1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

What's better?

Discussion in 'Networks & Internet Connectivity' started by holdin09, Nov 29, 2019.

  1. holdin09

    Gangster

    Joined: Apr 21, 2015

    Posts: 321

    Location: United Knigdom

    Hi I would like some help choosing a router, it's either draytek vigor 2762 or ubiquiti edgemax?
    I currently have a ubiquiti AP which is great and a bt home hub (newest one) that I would like to replace that doesn't have some features I want.

    Any feed back would help.
     
  2. gazref

    Associate

    Joined: Nov 2, 2018

    Posts: 33

    Im biased but I'm familiar with draytek. Supported a lot of businesses that used them and I cant think of a bad thing to say about them. Gives you scope to control security aspects. Gets my nod. Only come across ubiquti access points. Recall it having a user friendly UI but that's about it.
     
  3. WJA96

    Capodecina

    Joined: Jul 13, 2005

    Posts: 14,302

    Location: Norfolk, South Scotland

    Which EdgeRouter are you comparing to the Draytek 2762? The EdgeMax range is quite broad.

    That Draytek is also a VDSL/ADSL modem so if you need the modem functionality, you would need an EdgeRouter and a modem (something like a Draytek V120 or V130 depending on whether you have ADSL or VDSL).

    EdgeRouters are not as straightforward as the Draytek, but they have pretty much every feature you could ever want.

    Can I also suggest you look at the UniFi Dream Machine instead of something from the EdgeMax range? It’s a much closer comparison and while you’d still need a modem, you could immediately add your existing AP to the controller on the UDM and access all the features of the controller. It’s a VERY powerful piece of kit. While it’s a lot more money, it’s a lot more kit in a small box.
     
  4. Avalon

    Soldato

    Joined: Dec 29, 2002

    Posts: 5,170


    How about you tell us what features it’s missing that you want? I’d personally struggle to recommend a Draytek product in this day and age, they are mediocrity personified, the industry as a whole has moved on quite a lot, Draytek haven’t.
     
  5. WJA96

    Capodecina

    Joined: Jul 13, 2005

    Posts: 14,302

    Location: Norfolk, South Scotland

    This is true.
     
  6. holdin09

    Gangster

    Joined: Apr 21, 2015

    Posts: 321

    Location: United Knigdom

    It was just the ER-X as I don't need SFP. I looked at the dream machine and just thought it was a bit pointless having an AP but you do make a good point. I have a old openreach modem so that isn't a problem.
     
  7. holdin09

    Gangster

    Joined: Apr 21, 2015

    Posts: 321

    Location: United Knigdom

    I have two children aged 9 and 4, so want to have more controls. BT have parent controls but they aren't very good. Also the firewall settings and port forwarding isn't very good on the bt hub which affects gaming online.
     
  8. WJA96

    Capodecina

    Joined: Jul 13, 2005

    Posts: 14,302

    Location: Norfolk, South Scotland

    If you don’t need the improved coverage of 2 access points then you can always sell the existing AP, they make pretty good money used.
     
  9. Avalon

    Soldato

    Joined: Dec 29, 2002

    Posts: 5,170

    That doesn’t make a great deal of sense. What exactly isn’t good about port forwarding and firewall settings on the BT Hub that’s affecting your online gaming? I ask because it really shouldn’t be causing you any issues between UPnP and conventional forwarding (not really the done thing anymore), those are basic functions that are largely the same on any router suggested so far.

    As far as content filtering goes, BT’s hub won’t let you change DNS for example which is an obvious method to restrict content, but being honest as a parent of a 11 y/o and an 9 y/o, i’d rather supervise them properly and discuss appropriate and inappropriate content with them than rely on a 3rd party to parent for me - as someone who remembers what it was like to be that age, filtering is easily bypassed.
     
  10. WJA96

    Capodecina

    Joined: Jul 13, 2005

    Posts: 14,302

    Location: Norfolk, South Scotland

    On that basis I’d be looking at a cheap Celeron based X86 device running the free or home subscription version of Untangle. It’s pretty much the default option for content filtering in my opinion.

    https://www.untangle.com/untangle-ng-firewall/untangle-at-home/
     
  11. holdin09

    Gangster

    Joined: Apr 21, 2015

    Posts: 321

    Location: United Knigdom

    On the old hub think 4 it worked but it just doesn’t seem to work on the newest one. For instance I had a tp link router before it stopped working and that worked fine too.

    I supervise them as well but as they get older they will want their own space so if I implement it now then can get it working and can tweak it as I go along.