1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Which resolution?

Discussion in 'Monitors' started by Ish, 25 May 2006.

  1. Ish

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 11 Jan 2006

    Posts: 1,780

    Location: West Midlands

    I am going to be using a pc to display a powerpoint presentation on 2 screens. One will be a standard 19" tft and the other will be a 26" widescreen lcd tv with pc input placed in 2 different parts of the building.

    What resolution do i need to choose in windows that will be the best compromise to display the same presentation on both size monitors at the same time? (the presentation is a text based one). If it choose 800x600 for example what will it look like on the 26" widescreen?

    I hope that makes sense!!
     
  2. Baddass

    Capodecina

    Joined: 12 Jan 2003

    Posts: 20,184

    Location: UK

    couldn't you run at 1280 x 1024 in clone mode? This would then be the native res on the 19" TFT, and you could set the LCD TV to 4:3 aspect ratio, or to 1:1 pixel mapping if it has it, to display the same image but with black borders down the sides
     
  3. marc2003

    Capodecina

    Joined: 6 Feb 2004

    Posts: 20,504

    Location: England

    set each screen to it's native resolution and have 2 instances of powerpoint running. one on each screen? (if that's possible... :p)
     
  4. Baddass

    Capodecina

    Joined: 12 Jan 2003

    Posts: 20,184

    Location: UK

    don't THINK you can do "clone mode" with 2 different resolutions, maybe try something like ultramon, might be possible. If so then it's ideal
     
  5. Ish

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 11 Jan 2006

    Posts: 1,780

    Location: West Midlands

    due to the quipment being used (vga over cat5) i can only choose 1 resoloution on the pc for all monitors.

    What will text look like with 102x768 on a 26" widescreen
     
  6. Baddass

    Capodecina

    Joined: 12 Jan 2003

    Posts: 20,184

    Location: UK

    blurred, but maybe ok. Best bet is to try it and see :)
     
  7. Mud

    Mobster

    Joined: 13 Dec 2004

    Posts: 3,186

    Location: Bristol

    Shame you can't dual-head since you can use it to display powerpoint's slideshow on one screen whilst controlling it (and checking your notes) from the other, both in native. Thats what my dualscreens decide they want to do anyway...

    Unless you've made widescreen slides there isn't much point in using the LCDTV in a non-widescreen resolution.