which wireless router? (PS3)

Associate
I'm having trouble to decide which wireless router to get for my PS3. At the moment im using a wired Linksys ADSL2MUE ethernet modem but i want to share the internet from the PC to my PS3 in the living room (approx 15-20metres through a couple of walls). Trying to do my own research i found a lot of disgruntled consumers asking for help because the wireless router wouldnt work with the PS3 obviously i dont want to buy something that wont work, so if any of you currently own a PS3 and use a wireless router what type do you use and did you have any trouble setting it up? (im a networking noob so good lay man's terms are a bonus :D)

thanks and merry xmas :)

Soldato
I have no idea which work and which don't, I think most of the problems with wireless routers are solved with PS3 updates.

I had problems in the past with enabling WPA protection but now it has worked fine for months ***touches wood***

I have a very cheap SMC wireless router so I also think it isn't that expensive ones work and cheap ones don't.

Soldato
Merry Christmas to you too. You're posting rather early btw aren't you :O

My original router didn't work. After much, much googling I found out that 802.11b routers don't work too well with the PS3. So I got a 802.11g router. This one: Linksys WRT54GC - It's really good.

Last edited:
Soldato
I used a linksys for a while on my PS3 but with a lot of traffic it used to just shutdown, now i have a belkin one and its fine. Most seem to be fine though and have used a netgear router also, think it was just my particular model of linksys giving me problems, as many use them linksys and have no problems with them at all.

Caporegime
I have never had as many problems with routers as I have with Belkin, utter rubbish.
I used a Linksys faultlessly with around 8-10 wireless devices on the network without any problems at all.
I also find Netgear make pretty good routers too.