Will my Akasa power this upgrade?

Soldato
Joined
6 Dec 2003
Posts
2,540
Hi,

I'm planning an upgrade, i've had my current setup for about 2 years now. And after installing Supreme Commander and playing for a short time, I think it has had it's day :D

Anyway, i'm planning on buying the following:
  • Core 2 Duo E6600
  • Asus P5N-E
  • OCZ 2GB PC2-6400
And possibly a 8800 GTS. But the 8800 depends on if I need to buy a bigger PSU.

Currently I have an Akasa, I think it's the Ultra Quiet 460W unit, however, i'm not 100% sure, I'm gonna check when I get home.

I'm worried about 2 things, will it have enough juice to power the above kit, and then a 8800GTS once i've got the cash.

Thanks
 
Man of Honour
Joined
27 Sep 2004
Posts
25,821
Location
Glasgow
If it is the 460w then it should be fine with the Conroe, the 8800 I'm not so sure about, I think it would just about cope but you'd need to check that it still has good rails and that you have upwards of probably 24A on the 12v rail. :)
 
Associate
Joined
12 Oct 2004
Posts
1,432
Location
Aberdeen, Scotland
I just upgraded to the same spec as you're thinking about and funnily enough I had the same Akasa psu in my old rig, but I thought caution was the best part of valor and decided to upgrade the PSU to a 520w Corsair. Considering the expense of the components, the risk of having a sub-par psu just isn't worth it imo! The corsair is rock solid, pleased with my investment! :)
 
Soldato
OP
Joined
6 Dec 2003
Posts
2,540
Hmm, I was considering the Corsair 520w.

Out of interest EvilGrin, what cooler are you using with the C2D? The standard Intel cooler?

I was considering getting a decent cooler, but concerned about the large looking heatsink on the mobo chipset fouling the cooler.
 
Associate
Joined
12 Oct 2004
Posts
1,432
Location
Aberdeen, Scotland
nade said:
Hmm, I was considering the Corsair 520w.

Out of interest EvilGrin, what cooler are you using with the C2D? The standard Intel cooler?

I was considering getting a decent cooler, but concerned about the large looking heatsink on the mobo chipset fouling the cooler.

Have the Tuniq tower with my E6300 on the P5N-E SLi, have her overclocked to 3.3 GHz (roughly 475 FSB), there weren't any problems fitting the tuniq (you might need someone to help you though its quite awkward), the retention bracket was a little tight with some capacitors, but not too tight. :)
 
Associate
Joined
12 Oct 2004
Posts
1,432
Location
Aberdeen, Scotland
nade said:
That cooler is huge! Do you have a fan attached, or just using the cooler/heatsink on it's own?

It has a 120mm fan set inside it :p Have a few pics of the rig in these two posts: http://forums.overclockers.co.uk/showpost.php?p=8682748&postcount=472 http://forums.overclockers.co.uk/showpost.php?p=8683244&postcount=478

The 120 mm fan in the tuniq sits underneath the black plate at the top in the centre of the heatsink, and sends the hot air from the cpu out to the rear 120mm exhaust fan in my case.
 
Soldato
OP
Joined
6 Dec 2003
Posts
2,540
EvilGrin said:
It has a 120mm fan set inside it :p Have a few pics of the rig in these two posts: http://forums.overclockers.co.uk/showpost.php?p=8682748&postcount=472 http://forums.overclockers.co.uk/showpost.php?p=8683244&postcount=478

The 120 mm fan in the tuniq sits underneath the black plate at the top in the centre of the heatsink, and sends the hot air from the cpu out to the rear 120mm exhaust fan in my case.
Ahh! Nice.

Can't believe I didn't see it saying in the description that it has a fan! Thanks :)
 
Back
Top Bottom