1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Win10 start menu and task bar stopped working

Discussion in 'Windows & Other Software' started by L1ght, 22 May 2016.

  1. L1ght

    Hitman

    Joined: 9 Aug 2007

    Posts: 770

    After reboot the other day its all gone wrong. Tried some stuff in powershell ad cmd sfc but nothing works?

    Any ideas?

    Thanks.
     
  2. Rroff

    Man of Honour

    Joined: 13 Oct 2006

    Posts: 77,508

    To quote marc2003 out of context:

    I've had stuff like that happen on a few of my Windows 10 installs or occur at certain points - for some reason 1-2 PCs seem more prone to it than others - sometimes the only way I've fully resolved it (for awhile - it seems to come back some weeks or months later) is to do a reinstall of Windows.
     
  3. L1ght

    Hitman

    Joined: 9 Aug 2007

    Posts: 770

    Uh doing a reinstall would be hassle but thats what its looking like. I'm hoping it will resolve itself in time with an update.
     
  4. mrk

    Man of Honour

    Joined: 18 Oct 2002

    Posts: 88,228

    Location: South Coast

    See if your Windows created a system restore point and if it did, then restore back to a date you know it was working.

    I've had this happen to many machines at work now and no amount of "fixes" sort it, powershell or otherwise. Only a Windows 10 reset fixes it.

    In the interim I've just installed Classic Shell on those PCs and on my own PC at home I use Classic Shell and manually create a System Restore point regularly just in-case the taskbar right click stops working (a side affect of the start menu stopping too).

    Luckily I've not had the issue show up on my own PC yet, though I've been using Classic Shell since day 1. Maybe there's a correlation here.

    Restore yours, otherwise reset it, then install Classic Shell.
     
  5. peter212693

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 28 Jan 2005

    Posts: 1,697

    Location: Southport

  6. Skeeter

    Caporegime

    Joined: 8 Mar 2007

    Posts: 37,146

    Location: Surrey

    Reboot fixes it.

    Bizarrely, the only computer I've seen this happen on is one running the normal public release of 10. My machines on the Previews don't seem to suffer from it.

    That may just be because Windows is effectively "reinstalled" quite often though?
     
  7. Rroff

    Man of Honour

    Joined: 13 Oct 2006

    Posts: 77,508

    Some machines seem more susceptible to it than others dunno why - reboot doesn't always fix it - don't think I've seen a single instance of it so far on my Windows 10 tablet but the old Q9550 system I've had 10 on was doing it every few weeks/months - at first a reboot might solve it but eventually there was nothing but a reinstall that would work - though I got bored of looking for fixes. One of my VM installs does similar but the other for some reason it rarely happens and does go back to normal after a restart and they are almost clones of each other.
     
  8. nightmare99

    Mobster

    Joined: 19 Oct 2006

    Posts: 3,682

    Remove and re-install your 3rd party internet security package if you have one.
     
  9. Skeeter

    Caporegime

    Joined: 8 Mar 2007

    Posts: 37,146

    Location: Surrey

    Every few weeks? Your lucky. My laptop feels like it does it every few days!
     
  10. Tute

    Capodecina

    Joined: 24 Jul 2004

    Posts: 22,419

    Location: Devon, UK

    I had this when I tried to rip the Cortana and Onedrive crapware out of the operating system.

    I couldn't get it fixed, the only time it went away was with a clean install, then as soon as I tried to remove the above it was back again.
     
  11. Rroff

    Man of Honour

    Joined: 13 Oct 2006

    Posts: 77,508

    I get where it stops responding for like 30 seconds or so then rapidly fires through any actions you tried to do while it was unresponsive every now and again - but also have some systems where it does goes unresponsive but almost never recovers (sometimes rebooting will fix it for a short while) - which can take weeks or months from a fresh install to start happening.

    Dunno why some systems seem more prone to it than others - the only difference I can think of is that the one most effected is used for testing graphic cards.