1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Windows 8 Steam Tile error reading profile

Discussion in 'Windows & Other Software' started by Jed Shields, Mar 22, 2013.

  1. Jed Shields

    Wise Guy

    Joined: Apr 23, 2007

    Posts: 1,578

    Location: Cardiff-ish, Wales

    Hi guys,

    anyone had any trouble with Steam Tile connecting to their Steam account? My id is definitely correct, but I'm getting an error reading profile message. My profile is set to public. Any ideas?

    Cheers,

    Jed
     
  2. PapaLazaru

    Capodecina

    Joined: Dec 23, 2009

    Posts: 16,901

    Did you clean install Win8, or let it upgrade?

    If you let it upgrade itself, I would recommend doing a clean install and then reinstalling Steam.
     
  3. Jed Shields

    Wise Guy

    Joined: Apr 23, 2007

    Posts: 1,578

    Location: Cardiff-ish, Wales

    Upgraded. I'll try a fresh install when I get time :(
     
  4. PapaLazaru

    Capodecina

    Joined: Dec 23, 2009

    Posts: 16,901

    I had huge problems when I let it upgrade. Not the exact problem that you have, but many similar with other applications. As long as you have Win8 on a stick, it will not take long at all.
     
  5. Ceryndrion

    Mobster

    Joined: Mar 21, 2003

    Posts: 4,418

    Location: Nottingham

    what has the installation of windows, or steam for that matter, got to do with steam tile, an app that simply reads your profile information from the steam website?
     
  6. Jed Shields

    Wise Guy

    Joined: Apr 23, 2007

    Posts: 1,578

    Location: Cardiff-ish, Wales

    I've no idea, but it doesn't work and I've uninstalled and re-installed several times...
     
  7. thenewoc

    Mobster

    Joined: Mar 9, 2012

    Posts: 2,789

    Location: West Sussex, England

    Have you got anti virus software? I had an issue with a different app where the av software had listed it under a category where it was restricting it's behaviour.
     
  8. Jed Shields

    Wise Guy

    Joined: Apr 23, 2007

    Posts: 1,578

    Location: Cardiff-ish, Wales

    Got it working! I changed my profile id from a long number to Jedfordski and all sorted :D