1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Windows Crashing.

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by StevenG, 12 May 2006.

  1. StevenG

    Mobster

    Joined: 25 Jan 2006

    Posts: 3,071

    Location: Gateshead, Newcastle

    Been running the system in my sig for about a month with no problem. im getting crashes. 2 of my 3 screens will go blank and it will restart. when it restarts theres no error message or anything? any ideas? i think it might be the memory.
     
  2. Hlebio

    Perma Banned

    Joined: 18 Mar 2006

    Posts: 1,862

    Can't see your sig at the minute for some reason..

    At a complete guess I'd say RAM or PSU... but because it isn't going off in games I'd lean slightly more towards PSU..

    Tried memtest on your RAM?
     
  3. WantoN

    Capodecina

    Joined: 11 Jun 2003

    Posts: 10,725

    Location: Hampshire

    The summer's come along. Maybe your nicely clocked components are over-heating, and the motherboard pre-sets are tripping?

    Check your temps :)

    Ant :cool:
     
  4. StevenG

    Mobster

    Joined: 25 Jan 2006

    Posts: 3,071

    Location: Gateshead, Newcastle

    temps are fine. and i dont play games!!!! so i wouldnt know if it was going off. temps are about 30-38 CPU 45Chipset
     
  5. ichabod crane

    Man of Honour

    Joined: 14 Aug 2005

    Posts: 5,207

    Location: York

    maybe your clock isnt stable? otherwise its an odd one
     
  6. StevenG

    Mobster

    Joined: 25 Jan 2006

    Posts: 3,071

    Location: Gateshead, Newcastle

    been fine for a few month... im at college now and my pc is on at home. i'll keep it on and see if it happens again
     
  7. ichabod crane

    Man of Honour

    Joined: 14 Aug 2005

    Posts: 5,207

    Location: York

    i bet ya parents are goin and playin on it, and when they break it they just dont tell you and ya think it crashed lol :D
     
  8. StevenG

    Mobster

    Joined: 25 Jan 2006

    Posts: 3,071

    Location: Gateshead, Newcastle

    just crashed again. i might re-set my overclock back to stock and see what happens then...
     
  9. StevenG

    Mobster

    Joined: 25 Jan 2006

    Posts: 3,071

    Location: Gateshead, Newcastle

    Memory Timings

    i put all the settings in my memory to AUTO and ive booted up and there saying 2.5,3,3,6 when stock is 3,4,4,8 but i am running them at 2.9V is this normal?
     
  10. ichabod crane

    Man of Honour

    Joined: 14 Aug 2005

    Posts: 5,207

    Location: York

    my board does that sometimes when i change back to auto it sometimes remembers some of the previous settings like Command rate and things just reset the cmos to go back to defaults quickest way