• Competitor rules

    Please remember that any mention of competitors, hinting at competitors or offering to provide details of competitors will result in an account suspension. The full rules can be found under the 'Terms and Rules' link in the bottom right corner of your screen. Just don't mention competitors in any way, shape or form and you'll be OK.

Windows Vista *ATI Cards* Inbuilt drivers OK -> BUT All other ATI driver releases NOT

Associate
Joined
18 Oct 2002
Posts
1,608
Location
Liverpool, England
There seems to be others that have similar problems e.g. :

http://forums.overclockers.co.uk/showthread.php?t=17687714

3D games and 3D Mark 2006 all work with the inbuilt drivers that come with vista install.

If I boot into Windows XP the card works well with no problems.

However, when I installed some ATI beta drivers games would not at all start when switching to 3D and 3D Mark 2006 crash immediatly. Reinstalling the original Vista drivers did not work or reinstalling never ones.

I reinstalled Vista and tried with the official final ati drivers 7.1 and the same thing happened. This time I had done a full backup and restored vista and everything is fine with the inbuilt drivers.

Am I doing something stupid? :o :(

I am going to carry on with some experiments :) I would be very grateful if anyone could help me :)

Oh yeah...

Motherboards: Gigabyte GA_965P_DS3 PCI-Express
Graphics card: HIS ATI Radeon X1950 XT ICEQ 3 TURBO SILENT Heatpipe 256MB
 
Last edited:
Associate
Joined
18 Oct 2002
Posts
1,801
Location
Niptons Ridge
I have had the very same problem and am sticking with the inbuilt ones for now.
Like you said, once the catalysts were attempted I couldn't get the rig stable.
So for now (and the sake of sanity) I'm sticking with the WDDM driver.
Hopefully it will be ironed out in future releases as there are people on other forums struggling to get the cats running.
 
Soldato
Joined
27 Feb 2006
Posts
3,954
Location
Lincolnshire
Hi, I've got a Asus A8V with a HIS ATI Radeon X1950 XT ICEQ 3 TURBO SILENT Heatpipe 512mb AGP card on my Vista Home Premium HTPC. As I'm running the 7.1's I might give 3dmark a shot tonight, if I get the time. Will pass on the results..
ChrisC
 
Soldato
Joined
27 Feb 2006
Posts
3,954
Location
Lincolnshire
Hi, tested last night with 3dmark05 and all was fine with the 7.1's and received a rating of just over 9500....
This was on my HTPC system, not the one in my sig, which also works fine with games, Oblivion etc...

Anything else you'd like me to try?

ChrisC
 
Associate
Joined
14 Mar 2005
Posts
2,202
Are you still using the RTM drivers or the 7.1 drivers?

Also the built in drivers are not that great performance wise compared to the ATI drivers.
 
Soldato
Joined
16 Apr 2004
Posts
3,869
Location
Shropshire
I've never owned an ATI card before 2 weeks ago and can honestly say I've had no problems at all with Vista UE x64, an x1950 Pro and the latest drivers off the Ati/AMD site.

I've run 3dm06 several times and probably played about 6 hours of BF2142 so far all without incident.
 
Associate
Joined
16 Aug 2006
Posts
1,675
Location
Stoke
:confused: Mine gives out after a minute or so... its really upsetting!

This is with Vista 64 with the latest drivers. How do you get the inbuilt drivers on it.. a clean install
 
Associate
OP
Joined
18 Oct 2002
Posts
1,608
Location
Liverpool, England
I get a feeling that something gets corrupted. When I install just the drivers and start a game it works, but as soon as I reboot the computer I immediately get graphics corruptions in games and crash, or restart.

I have tried, incase there was conflict with my X-Fi card, and removed my X-fi soundcard and it did not make a difference (But I have not done a clean install without it).

Mattpj, I think like xp you can choose known drivers when you reinstall drivers in device manager. But the weird thing with me is that when I switch back to them it does not fix the problem so I have to recover using the full backup function. Then it works..really strange... and a real pain in the ....
 
Associate
Joined
22 Dec 2002
Posts
1,189
Location
Teesside, UK
I've posted something similiar and after viewing plenty of other forums it seems that the 1950XT (not the Pro, XTX or any other ATI card) is pretty much screwed with Vista at the moment and the only option is to run the default '1900' drivers, which in a manner of speaking actually work perfect. Performance wise not, but definetly no crashes here.

Over the past few days I've tried everything I can think of to get an ATI 1950XT driver installed and running without crashes, but it's the same result everytime, namely PC rebooting with a BSOD.

My most successfull run was to install the CCC only from 7.1, then to use the CCC to install the 7.2 beta driver. This allowed 6 hours of WOW and it felt even smoother than XP. Even better I was able to Run Half Life Episode 1 and I've never seen it run so smooth. I dont care for the FPS numbers as I can generally tell by the smoothness and my own eyes if the FPS is good enough. I even booted to XP to check I was not trying to justify my Vista purchase. With the right driver both Episode 1 and WOW were far smoother with mouse turns and heavy on screen action in Vista than XP. I can't explain why it was better than XP. Could be the driver, could be Vista64. I'm really not sure, but it was definetly noticable
Both Episode 1 and WOW set to the max in every area

As I mentioned it all went wrong as the next day I was constantly getting crashes again. Busy few days ahead so I need stability so back to the default driver for now. Once I reverted back my crashes were gone. Unfortunetly both Episode 1 and WOW lost that awsome performance gain I had. Still playable of course.

I'm now quite content knowing that with a few bug fixes from ATI I know what my gaming performance will be using Vista.

Just for the record I'm running
Vista 64
HIS 1950XT
Con 6300
2gb mem

Once I had CCC and the beta driver installed I set the following options.
AA and AF = Automatic (or game decides whatever)
Vsync to Force = Always on
Tripple Buffering = on
Adaptive = Off
MipMap = Quality

Somthing set to Advance. Sorry I've not got it installed and I can't quite remember. Just remember Advance was the option by knocking the slider to the right.

Hope this helps. Sorry if it makes no sense.
 
Last edited:
Associate
Joined
17 Jun 2004
Posts
393
I am also using 7.1 Cats with a X1900 XT-X with CCC and having no problems with running BF2142 (only game im using with Vista, but only game I am playing atm).
Card clocks up and down properly also.
 
Back
Top Bottom