1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Winfast NF4SK8AA "detecting array"?

Discussion in 'Motherboards' started by Teasy, Aug 10, 2009.

  1. Teasy

    Gangster

    Joined: Oct 23, 2003

    Posts: 202

    Ever since I first got this motherboard years back one thing about it has annoyed me slightly. Every time I start up the PC I get a screen at the start which says:

    ""Nvidia RAID IDE ROM BIOS 4.83
    Copyright (c) 2004 NVIDIA CORP

    Detecting Array...

    SiL 3132 SataLink BIOS Version 7.2.11""

    That screen takes about 15 seconds to disappear. I don't use RAID and have all RAID settings I can see disabled in the BIOS.

    Obviously 15 seconds is hardly important when my PC used to take nearly 2 minutes to start anyway. But recently I bought a OCZ Vertex SSD and now my PC starts up in 1 minute, so I'm finding that 15 second pause is now very annoying considering its now a quarter of the system boot time.

    Does anyone know if this screen just has to be their with this motherboard or if there's a setting I may have wrong? Like I said I made sure I'd disabled all RAID options in the BIOS. Then I thought maybe it was doing it because I had my SATA drives on auto, so I tried to enter their settings manually, but found that the BIOS won't see to let me do that for any SATA drive.

    Anyway ideas?
     
    Last edited: Aug 15, 2009
  2. Teasy

    Gangster

    Joined: Oct 23, 2003

    Posts: 202

    Anybody got an idea?
     
  3. pingwing

    Capodecina

    Joined: Apr 9, 2008

    Posts: 19,299

    Location: Bedford

    Wow that was the very first motherboard i had in a pc that i built my self! And more importantly i remember having that screen for the first day i had it! I couldnt install windows onto a raid array with only one hard drive (supprisingly...)

    Took me ages to find the bios setting that turns off the bios raid controller (this was a bit over 4 years ago now and the board is long gone to ebay). Have another poke around the bios and there should be a raid option somewhere that gets rid of it and just boots straight to the hard drive.

    If not scream at it, that seemed to help....
     
  4. Ch3m1c4L

    Mobster

    Joined: Oct 11, 2007

    Posts: 2,759

    Location: London, UK

    disable the onboard/nvidia raid controller, make sure all settings are not on raid or raid + ahci or raid + sata etc modes. It will be there, but without knowing the board i cant tell you where.

    edit:probably in onbard devices or something similar.
     
  5. sir-les-mp

    Wise Guy

    Joined: Aug 23, 2007

    Posts: 1,672

    Location: Rothesay

    i have this board and untill recently run a 4400+ on it
    if i remeber corectly you have to disable show rom and set the controller to IDE only
    if you are not using the silicon sata ports they can be switch off in onboard devices via the bios
     
  6. Teasy

    Gangster

    Joined: Oct 23, 2003

    Posts: 202

    Thanks for the help. Unfortunately I'm still unable to remove the screen. I've gone over the BIOS and can't find anything to do with RAID that I still have enabled. I also can't find an option for "Show ROM" and I use two Sata ports for my two HDD's so I can't turn SATA off completely.

    What I'm going to do is post up my entire BIOS, I realise 99% of it is irrelivant but I thought posting it all was better then just posting stuff I think is relivent considering I can't find the right option to sort this out myself.
     
  7. Teasy

    Gangster

    Joined: Oct 23, 2003

    Posts: 202

    BIOS Feature:-

    Superboot - Enabled
    SuperBiosProtect - Disabled
    SuperRecovery - LSHIFT+F12

    SuperSpeed-
    CPU Clock Multiplier - Startup
    CPU Vid Control - Startup
    HT Clock Multiplier - 5x
    CPU Frequency - 200
    Memclock index value - Auto
    DRAM Config - [PRESS ENTER]
    PCIE Frequency 100Mhz
    CPU Vcore Voltage Select - Default
    VDIMM Voltage Select - 2.50V

    Advanced BIOS Features:-

    Bootable Devices Priority - Vertex 1.3
    Init Display First - PCIEx-Master
    USB Keyboard Support - Disabled
    USB Mouse Support - Disabled
    DRAM ECC Feature Control - Disabled
    Boot Up Floppy Seek - Disabled
    Boot Up NumLock Status - On
    IDE DMA transfer access
    AMD K8 Cool 'n' Quiet control - Disabled
    IDE HDD Block Mode - Enabled
    Security Option - Setup
    Full Screen LOGO Show - Disabled
    Small LOGO(EPA) Show - Disabled

    Advanced Chipset Features:-

    HT Width - 16-16
    Err94 Enh - Auto
    CPU Spread Spectrum - Disabled
    SATA Spread Spectrum - Disabled
    PCIE Spread Spectrum - Disabled
    SSE/SSE2 Instructions - Enabled
    S/W memory hole Remapping - Disabled
    H/W memory hole Remapping - Disabled
    MTRR mapping mode - Continuous
    System BIOS Cacheable - Enabled
    SLI Broadcast Aperture - Disabled

    Intergrated Peripherals:-

    Raid Config (RAID Enable) - Disabled
    OnChip IDE Channel0 - Enabled
    OnChip IDE Channel1 - Enabled
    Serial-ATA 1 - Enabled
    Serial-ATA 2 - Enabled
    SiL3132 RAID Mode - SATA (other option is RAID)
    OnChip USB - V1.1+V2.0
    AC97 Audio - Auto
    Onboard PCIE Lan - Disabled
    Onboard PCIE Boot ROM - Disabled
    MAC LAN - Auto
    MAC LAN Boot ROM - Disabled
    MAC Media Interface - Pin Strap
    Onboard FDC Controller - Enabled
    Serial/Parallel Ports Config - Enter Setup

    Power Management Setup:-

    ACPI Suspend Type - S1&S3
    Power Management - User Defined
    Video Off Method - DPMS Support
    HDD Power Down - Disabled
    HDD Down In Suspend - Disabled
    Soft-Off by PBTN - Instant-Off
    WOL(PME#) From Soft-Off - Disabled
    MAC Resume from S5 - Enabled
    Power-On vy Alarm - Disabled
    Power On Function - Button Only
    PWRON After PWR-Fail - Off

    PnP/PCI Configuration:-

    Reset Configuration Data - Disabled
    Resources Controlled By - Auto(ESCD)
    PCI/VGA Palette Snoop - Disabled
    Maximum Payload Size - 4096
     
  8. Teasy

    Gangster

    Joined: Oct 23, 2003

    Posts: 202

    Right I decided that if the problem couldn't be sorted in the BIOS I'd see what could be done with the hardware. I thought I'd remove my second HDD and DVDRW temporarily just to get rid of the screen and see if relocating them would keep it away. After all how can the PC try to detect an array with only one drive in the system right?.. It still does it though! :lol: One drive in the system and all RAID options off in the BIOS and its still sitting their "detecting array" :confused:
     
  9. Ch3m1c4L

    Mobster

    Joined: Oct 11, 2007

    Posts: 2,759

    Location: London, UK

    OnChip IDE Channel0 - Enabled
    OnChip IDE Channel1 - Enabled
    sure that isnt "enabling" raid on those channels? The rest does indeed look fine though.
     
  10. Teasy

    Gangster

    Joined: Oct 23, 2003

    Posts: 202

    Tried disabling them, all it does it disable the IDE channels completely.

    I thought it might possibly be due to the specific ports I've used to plug the drives in, so I unplugged every drive in the system, I still get "detecting array" though :(

    One thing I did notice is that since I removed my IDE DVDRW the PC now boots in 45 seconds (Windows takes 15 seconds less time to start then before). But 15 seconds of that is still waiting for that detecting array screen.
     
    Last edited: Aug 18, 2009


Share This Page