1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Working out MaxDSL speed?

Discussion in 'Networks & Internet Connectivity' started by Messiah Khan, 18 May 2006.

  1. Messiah Khan

    Sgarrista

    Joined: 1 Sep 2005

    Posts: 9,998

    Location: Scottish Highlands

    Is there a rough way of working out what connection I might be able to get if I move over to MaxDSL? At the moment im on a 1mb connection wit hte following stats;


    Connection Speed DS 1152 kbps US 288 kbps
    Line Attenuation DS 61 db US 15.5 db
    Noise Margin DS 14 db US 21 db
     
  2. tolien

    Caporegime

    Joined: 16 May 2003

    Posts: 25,368

    Location: ::1

    http://212.23.23.177/calc.htm (also in the FAQ). Not perfect by any means.
    The only way to know with even the remotest certainty is try it and see. You'll get more, but whether it's enough to get you over the next half megabit a second step in the data rate is a bit of an unknown.
     
    Last edited: 18 May 2006
  3. Messiah Khan

    Sgarrista

    Joined: 1 Sep 2005

    Posts: 9,998

    Location: Scottish Highlands


    Cheers Tolien. "A crude estimate of what your line is capable of is 1963kbps (kilo bits per second)". Well, that recons Im likely to get a decent boost. Im going to see what my download usage is this month, to see if I could live with the 50gb cap that my ISP (Freedom 2 surf) has.
     
  4. Jez

    Caporegime

    Joined: 18 Oct 2002

    Posts: 33,007

    You'll manage the 1.5mbit data rate profile on that line without too much problem. Possibly even the 2mbit profile.
     
  5. Messiah Khan

    Sgarrista

    Joined: 1 Sep 2005

    Posts: 9,998

    Location: Scottish Highlands

    Yeah, I recon I might go for it. I want to try getting hold of another good quality Microfilter first though. The other day I swapped a standard BT microfilter for the one that came with my Netgear router, and the SNR went up by 5-6. Im hoping I can get another slight gain if I add a decent one downstairs as well.
     
  6. Jez

    Caporegime

    Joined: 18 Oct 2002

    Posts: 33,007

    Disconnect the phone, then check it, saves messing about getting hold of microfilters that may not be needed