1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Worth upgrading ram?

Discussion in 'Memory' started by Vidar, Dec 28, 2019.

  1. Vidar

    Mobster

    Joined: Dec 18, 2008

    Posts: 4,657

    Location: Liverpool

    So I'm currently running 16gb of Gigabyte Aorus ram at 3200Mhz, the Samsung B-die kit and have some money to burn... will I see much of a performance difference in going to a higher speed on a 9900k? I'll be looking at going to 32gb so I've got all my slots populated if I go for it while prices are low...

    Which kits are recommended?
     
  2. bledd

    Don

    Joined: Oct 21, 2002

    Posts: 46,546

    Location: Parts Unknown

    3200 c14 ram is slightly quicker, but won't be worth the price of replacing existing.

    If you want 32gb, I'd just match what you have
     
  3. Vidar

    Mobster

    Joined: Dec 18, 2008

    Posts: 4,657

    Location: Liverpool

    Struggling to find a matching set of the Samsung bdie kit at a reasonable price
     
  4. Cooper

    Mobster

    Joined: Jun 16, 2004

    Posts: 2,602

    Don't waste your money...the benefits of faster RAM over 3000Mhz are tiny, as in completely imperceptible in actual use.

    Sure you'll see a few extra points in certain benchmarks, but you'll only have the numbers to tell you it was actually faster.

    ...adding just an extra 100Mhz to your CPU and/or GPU will give you better returns on your money.
     
  5. MaXxBoulton

    Wise Guy

    Joined: Jan 11, 2019

    Posts: 1,700

    Location: Dagobah system

    do you need 32gb over the 16gb you have?

    if not then no dont change the kit
     
  6. Cooper

    Mobster

    Joined: Jun 16, 2004

    Posts: 2,602

    Well, my reasoning in getting 32GB was simple (when 16GB would have been enough)... it may not be needed now but I keep my PC's for 3-5yrs and it 'will' be needed eventually in that time frame and it may not be as cheap again. DDR4 RAM prices can & have doubled in only 3-6mths.

    Get it while its cheap.
     
  7. nomadd

    Hitman

    Joined: Sep 27, 2008

    Posts: 749

    I used a Corsair Dominator PC3200 32GB (2 x 16GB) kit in my 9900K build. Been very happy with it. I run a lot of VMs for development work, so needed the capacity. In Aida64, it's about 50GB/s speed; I'd imagine yours is similar.

    Unless you need the extra ram capacity, I'd say just stick with what you have; any slight improvement in latency is unlikely to be noticeable in the real-world (and the 9900K isn't anywhere near as sensitive to memory speed as Ryzen.)

    Save you pennies for a better graphics card (etc.) in the future.
     
  8. MaXxBoulton

    Wise Guy

    Joined: Jan 11, 2019

    Posts: 1,700

    Location: Dagobah system

    Before 32gb is needed for gaming and daily used will we be on ddr5, it's not too fair away now this ddr5 will land
     
  9. Cooper

    Mobster

    Joined: Jun 16, 2004

    Posts: 2,602

    I'll need 32GB long before I'll even think about upgrading to a DDR5 based system, I mean, I was on DDR3 until mid 2019!
     
  10. MaXxBoulton

    Wise Guy

    Joined: Jan 11, 2019

    Posts: 1,700

    Location: Dagobah system

    If just for games I dont think you will, 8gb to 16gb was not a big jump 8gb still works for games now so jumping to 32gb is massive.
     
  11. Vidar

    Mobster

    Joined: Dec 18, 2008

    Posts: 4,657

    Location: Liverpool

    I've managed to get a 2nd kit, B grade from here and talked the price down quite a bit...
     
  12. MaXxBoulton

    Wise Guy

    Joined: Jan 11, 2019

    Posts: 1,700

    Location: Dagobah system

    Grate stuff, yep they let you haggle over B-grade stuff,