1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

WTF did ntl do to their webspace??

Discussion in 'Networks & Internet Connectivity' started by Gerard, 1 Jun 2006.

  1. Gerard

    Caporegime

    Joined: 18 Oct 2002

    Posts: 36,251

    Location: Ireland

    You used to be abkle to browse flders etc, now all of asudden i get the "you are not authorised to view this" on my own webspace? :confused:
     
  2. Fr0dders

    Caporegime

    Joined: 18 Oct 2002

    Posts: 33,329

    Location: West Yorks

    sounds like a permissions fault

    try deleting the file and re-uploading them ?
     
  3. Gerard

    Caporegime

    Joined: 18 Oct 2002

    Posts: 36,251

    Location: Ireland

    Happens with every folder though, ive only uuplaoded a few pics today and every folder is affected :(
     
  4. andrewbell1984

    PermaBanned

    Joined: 20 Dec 2005

    Posts: 1,679

    Contact NTL ?
     
  5. james.miller

    Capodecina

    Joined: 17 Aug 2003

    Posts: 19,526

    Location: Woburn Sand Dunes

    yeah ntl are doing something. im getting 'forbidden' as well. was fine yesterday, but they ad already stuffed it up then. It wasnt the normal apache listing, it was just a long text list of files and folders. dunno what they're up to :confused:
     
  6. Gerard

    Caporegime

    Joined: 18 Oct 2002

    Posts: 36,251

    Location: Ireland


    May as well slap yourself in the face several times for all the good it'll do. :p
     
  7. Burbleflop

    Mobster

    Joined: 7 May 2003

    Posts: 4,247

    Location: Away from here

    It sounds like ntl have finally learnt that giving directly listings of http servers isn't a great idea.
     
  8. Gimpymoo

    Capodecina

    Joined: 31 May 2005

    Posts: 15,302

    Location: Nottingham

    I was just going to post a thread asking the same question.. been sat here for 10 minutes pressing loads of buttons thinking I was doing something wrong :D

    NTL Goof up for the win

    I imagine will be sorted soon.

    Am I right in thinking you can access files if you know the exact file location but you cannot browse folders?

    With a toupé wearing racoon no less.
     
    Last edited: 1 Jun 2006
  9. andrewbell1984

    PermaBanned

    Joined: 20 Dec 2005

    Posts: 1,679

    hmm :mad: isn't the first line if support the company that its provided from ? :p :D
     
  10. Gerard

    Caporegime

    Joined: 18 Oct 2002

    Posts: 36,251

    Location: Ireland

    Stil not fixed. :mad:
     
  11. Burbleflop

    Mobster

    Joined: 7 May 2003

    Posts: 4,247

    Location: Away from here

    I don't think it is a fault - I think ntl have just changed their webserver configs to disable directory listing.
     
  12. Gerard

    Caporegime

    Joined: 18 Oct 2002

    Posts: 36,251

    Location: Ireland

    Kinda annoying if they have, linking to multiple pictures is a pain in the arse now. :(
     
  13. axer

    Mobster

    Joined: 25 Mar 2004

    Posts: 2,885

    Location: Iwade, Kent

    Its probably to stop people/spiders getting lists of files off customer web space which will save them a tonne in bandwidth :)
     
  14. JonnyGLC

    Mobster

    Joined: 7 Oct 2004

    Posts: 3,122

    Location: Manchester

    Not sure about everybody else, but it's working fine here again now :D
     
  15. james.miller

    Capodecina

    Joined: 17 Aug 2003

    Posts: 19,526

    Location: Woburn Sand Dunes

    yup fine here too:)
     
  16. Gerard

    Caporegime

    Joined: 18 Oct 2002

    Posts: 36,251

    Location: Ireland

    Still borked here :(