XFire, Worth the money?

Associate
I'm a complete beginner when it comes to building my own PC, I have quite a tight budget of about £450-£500. I'm going to be going the ATi graphics card route, so just wondering whether going for a XFire enabled MoBo would be worth investing in, if I'm not going to be using to Gfx cards straight away?

As mentioned before I'm a complete beginner and am looking at this GfX card http://www.overclockers.co.uk/showproduct.php?prodid=GX-141-SP and this processor http://www.overclockers.co.uk/showproduct.php?prodid=CP-168-AM
Could someone recommend me a Mobo, with them components?

Regards,
Hessian

Soldato
First of all,

Are you overclocking? If so get a Intel Core 2 Duo.

2ndly,

Crossfire/SLi doens't give a major boost over a single card, so it isn't worth it.

Associate
OP
I most likely won't be overclocking, as I said I'm new to all this, so I don't even know how to overclock :p

Edit: Just looked at the Intel Core 2 Duo's and they seem to be much more expensive for similar stats?

Last edited:
Associate
@ stock speeds, the price points for amd vs intel are similar for similar levels of performance. Intels come into their own when you start overclocking and generally run cooler

As for the graphics card - nothing wrong with that apart from the fact that it's dropped in price by £25 since I bought one 5 weeks ago :(
What resolution monitor are you using, if it's 1024 x 1280 or less you may only want 256 MB, although admittedly, it won't really save you much by downgrading

Be aware that you won't be playing DX10 games on it - it's DX9 only - this may not be a problem for you since no DX10 games are out at the moment and they will be Vista only

<<Edit>>