Overclockers UK Forums Click here for more details
Free Shipping for Loyal Forum Members - CLICK HERE

Go Back   Overclockers UK Forums > Hardware > Graphics Cards

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 19th Sep 2013, 07:10   #1
ashmanuk67
Wise Guy
 
Joined: May 2007
Location: Kent
Posts: 1,300
Gtx770 on i5 2500k stuttering laggy

I have just purchased another GTX770 for SLi and install went well, I run heaven benchmark and got nearly double my single card score and both cards at 99% so all is good there.

But in BF3 in large city maps 64 man servers I notice some really bad stuttering / lagging and my fps counter drops in some parts to 60fps? I have the SLi status bar on and most of the time is about 3/4 full or more.

I am running an i5 2500k @ 4.3ghz I have been reading a fair bit about the CPU bottlenecking the GPU's in the past so I gather this is what happening here?
I thought I might get some slight drops in performance here and there on different maps but did not think it would be as bad as this.

In Nvidia control panel I have sli on and for the BF3 I have set max performance instead of dynamic, fastest refresh rate, render ahead limit set to game preferred.

Can an i5 be this bad?

Win 10 GTX770 SLi i7 3770k @4.3ghz H70 8 gig Kingston HyperXHAF X CM1000w AsusVE278HE @144Hz
ashmanuk67 is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 19th Sep 2013, 07:16   #2
AMDMatt
AMD Rep
 
AMDMatt's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2007
Location: Norwich, UK.
Posts: 28,878
Quote:
Originally Posted by ashmanuk67 View Post
I have just purchased another GTX770 for SLi and install went well, I run heaven benchmark and got nearly double my single card score and both cards at 99% so all is good there.

But in BF3 in large city maps 64 man servers I notice some really bad stuttering / lagging and my fps counter drops in some parts to 60fps? I have the SLi status bar on and most of the time is about 3/4 full or more.

I am running an i5 2500k @ 4.3ghz I have been reading a fair bit about the CPU bottlenecking the GPU's in the past so I gather this is what happening here?
I thought I might get some slight drops in performance here and there on different maps but did not think it would be as bad as this.

In Nvidia control panel I have sli on and for the BF3 I have set max performance instead of dynamic, fastest refresh rate, render ahead limit set to game preferred.

Can an i5 be this bad?
An i5 will definitely bottleneck your cards a little bit in this game, even more so if you're at 1080p. Overclock that cpu as much as you can or ideally upgrade to an i7 as battlefield really benefits from the extra threads as i7 has.

Aside from that it sounds like you're suffering from some microstutter maybe? Have you tried altering the render ahead limit or setting an fps limit? I used to have to do such a thing with my crossfire setup on occasion before the frame pacing drivers came out.

AMDMatt is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 19th Sep 2013, 07:26   #3
Ripjaw
Hitman
 
Ripjaw's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2013
Posts: 929
Im confused as to why its happening its not a lack of cpu grunt imo. I could run bf3 maxxed out on an amd athlon ii 640 and an ati hd7850. Both alot lower spec than your setup. Are your gpu drivers upto date? It could just be somthing that simple?

Saying that i have no experiance with sli whatsoever so cant offer much insight lol

How does the game run with one gpu?
Ripjaw is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 19th Sep 2013, 07:47   #4
~>Dg<~
Capodecina
 
Joined: Jun 2006
Location: Notts
Posts: 24,965
two cards i7

single card you wont notice it.

~>Dg<~ is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 19th Sep 2013, 07:48   #5
Marine-RX179
Capodecina
 
Joined: Feb 2010
Posts: 13,001
I think rather than "shutter", it's probably the feeling of lack of smoothness having quickly drop from 100fps+ down to 60fps within seconds on his 144Hz monitor.

Have to say this, but for BF3 multiplayer the i5 2500K would be a bottleneck even if overclocked if you are pushing 120fps+ on a 144Hz monitor rather than 60fps on a 60Hz monitor.

From what I recall a i5 2500K overclocked to 4.7GHz+ would roughly hold minimum frame rate of around 70fps, so your 60fps with the i5 2500K only at 4.3GHz sounds about right. You could try overclocking your i5 2500K higher, however while it would definitely give some boost for frame rate, it won't be huge (most like frame rate dropping down to 70fps instead of your current 60fps). If you got a i7 instead (and also high overclock it), I would imagine it should bring the minimum frame rate up to 80-90fps+.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ripjaw View Post
Im confused as to why its happening its not a lack of cpu grunt imo. I could run bf3 maxxed out on an amd athlon ii 640 and an ati hd7850. Both alot lower spec than your setup. Are your gpu drivers upto date? It could just be somthing that simple?

Saying that i have no experiance with sli whatsoever so cant offer much insight lol

How does the game run with one gpu?
That's because your CPU only need to push frame rate to as high as the 7850 itself can chuck out (30-40fps), whereas OP need the CPU to push the frame rate to as high as the pair of GTX770 (120fps+) to not bottleneck. So basically his CPU need to push 3-4 times the frame rate of your CPU.

i5 2500K@4.80GHz, Asus P8Z68-V GEN3, R9 290x, Crucial Ballistix Tactical Tracer DDR3-1600MHz 8GB, Corsair Force Series 3 120GB, OCZ Vertex 2 512GB, Asus Essence STX, Samsung SA700 3D 120Hz, CoolerMaster 690III , Corsair TX650W
Last edited by Marine-RX179; 19th Sep 2013 at 07:52.
Marine-RX179 is online now   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 19th Sep 2013, 08:14   #6
ashmanuk67
Wise Guy
 
Joined: May 2007
Location: Kent
Posts: 1,300
Quote:
Originally Posted by LtMatt View Post
An i5 will definitely bottleneck your cards a little bit in this game, even more so if you're at 1080p. Overclock that cpu as much as you can or ideally upgrade to an i7 as battlefield really benefits from the extra threads as i7 has.

Aside from that it sounds like you're suffering from some microstutter maybe? Have you tried altering the render ahead limit or setting an fps limit? I used to have to do such a thing with my crossfire setup on occasion before the frame pacing drivers came out.
Hi LtMatt why would a 1080p res make it more noticeable? Confused on that one lol
I hope it's not microstutter I thought Nvidia was good on this front.
Thanks for your time.

Win 10 GTX770 SLi i7 3770k @4.3ghz H70 8 gig Kingston HyperXHAF X CM1000w AsusVE278HE @144Hz
ashmanuk67 is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 19th Sep 2013, 08:18   #7
AMDMatt
AMD Rep
 
AMDMatt's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2007
Location: Norwich, UK.
Posts: 28,878
Quote:
Originally Posted by ashmanuk67 View Post
Hi LtMatt why would a 1080p res make it more noticeable? Confused on that one lol
I hope it's not microstutter I thought Nvidia was good on this front.
Thanks for your time.
Because the gpu's won't need to work as hard to render the fps. At 1440p the bottleneck would not be as bad because the gpu's would be working much harder thus the gpu usage would be closer to 99% on each gpu.

AMDMatt is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 19th Sep 2013, 10:08   #8
ashmanuk67
Wise Guy
 
Joined: May 2007
Location: Kent
Posts: 1,300
Quote:
Originally Posted by Marine-RX179 View Post
I think rather than "shutter", it's probably the feeling of lack of smoothness having quickly drop from 100fps+ down to 60fps within seconds on his 144Hz monitor.

Have to say this, but for BF3 multiplayer the i5 2500K would be a bottleneck even if overclocked if you are pushing 120fps+ on a 144Hz monitor rather than 60fps on a 60Hz monitor.

From what I recall a i5 2500K overclocked to 4.7GHz+ would roughly hold minimum frame rate of around 70fps, so your 60fps with the i5 2500K only at 4.3GHz sounds about right. You could try overclocking your i5 2500K higher, however while it would definitely give some boost for frame rate, it won't be huge (most like frame rate dropping down to 70fps instead of your current 60fps). If you got a i7 instead (and also high overclock it), I would imagine it should bring the minimum frame rate up to 80-90fps+.

.
Ok i kind of get this, Its a shame as a single GTX770 runs so smooth and now i'm getting the stutter/lagg would it be beneficial to go into the Nvidia control panel and set some settings in there to max to push the GPU more?

Win 10 GTX770 SLi i7 3770k @4.3ghz H70 8 gig Kingston HyperXHAF X CM1000w AsusVE278HE @144Hz
ashmanuk67 is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 19th Sep 2013, 10:15   #9
Davanius
Gangster
 
Joined: May 2012
Posts: 420
Quote:
Originally Posted by ashmanuk67 View Post
Ok i kind of get this, Its a shame as a single GTX770 runs so smooth and now i'm getting the stutter/lagg would it be beneficial to go into the Nvidia control panel and set some settings in there to max to push the GPU more?
I have noticed the same thing before with my 670's and in my case, I had to lower the mesh quality a notch or two. After that, no problem.

When I looked into this a while back, some claimed that an update from dice caused it and that it was happening to i7 users as well.

I don't have any proof or links right now regarding this before anyone gets worked up.
Davanius is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 19th Sep 2013, 10:22   #10
RavenXXX2
Capodecina
 
Joined: Oct 2007
Location: North West
Posts: 13,868
Yeah it's dice and their **** coding, months back when I played with an 2500k and 670 I never dropped below 60 FPS on maps like karkand. I installed the game recently with an 680 purchase and I was hitting as low as 40 fps on karkand when looking across the city.
RavenXXX2 is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 19th Sep 2013, 10:23   #11
ashmanuk67
Wise Guy
 
Joined: May 2007
Location: Kent
Posts: 1,300
Quote:
Originally Posted by Davanius View Post
I have noticed the same thing before with my 670's and in my case, I had to lower the mesh quality a notch or two. After that, no problem.

When I looked into this a while back, some claimed that an update from dice caused it and that it was happening to i7 users as well.

I don't have any proof or links right now regarding this before anyone gets worked up.
Hi Davanius,

If you get time could you tell me what sort of settings you have enabled on Nvidia control panel and are you running ultra in BF3 with mesh on medium?

Win 10 GTX770 SLi i7 3770k @4.3ghz H70 8 gig Kingston HyperXHAF X CM1000w AsusVE278HE @144Hz
ashmanuk67 is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 19th Sep 2013, 10:44   #12
Davanius
Gangster
 
Joined: May 2012
Posts: 420
My settings in the control panel never change much after every driver install.

I only ever really change the refresh rate to 120hz, enable sli and physx set to auto.

Power management mode to prefer maximum performance in global settings and then set up the 3d vision.

I don't do anything else. Sometimes drivers don't perform as well as the previous ones so you could also try older ones.

If your other games are alright then try not to let bf3 issues ruin your experience. Sometime when I have issues with a game and I have tried everything to sort it with no avail, I chalk it down to the game.

Edit: It runs better on medium but I have settled for high. Please note that I have tried it with one card with the same results. In my opinion, it's bf3. I don't think that an i7 will solve it. But I accept that I could be wrong.
Last edited by Davanius; 19th Sep 2013 at 10:47.
Davanius is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 19th Sep 2013, 10:51   #13
Random Guy
Wise Guy
 
Joined: Nov 2007
Posts: 2,387
OP I don't think its your CPU. Run the performance overlay in BF3 to make sure, but I would suggest you check your Nvidia Driver Version, ensure that VSync is off. Have you confirmed SLI is working as expected in othe games?

There is no greater distance between two people(s) than misunderstanding.
Random Guy is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 19th Sep 2013, 11:01   #14
Davanius
Gangster
 
Joined: May 2012
Posts: 420
After a quick googling, this is the first result.

http://battlelog.battlefield.com/bf3...4490021812682/

Someone there mentions the same thing about mesh quality and others mention poor optimization. It's more or less the same results to what I found when searching for answers a while back.

Stuttering and lags could also be overheating of cpu etc so do check on that.
Davanius is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 19th Sep 2013, 11:08   #15
ashmanuk67
Wise Guy
 
Joined: May 2007
Location: Kent
Posts: 1,300
Quote:
Originally Posted by Random Guy View Post
OP I don't think its your CPU. Run the performance overlay in BF3 to make sure, but I would suggest you check your Nvidia Driver Version, ensure that VSync is off. Have you confirmed SLI is working as expected in othe games?
I am running 326.80 and i heard reports of them being very good with SLi.

Vsync is off and SLi is working.
Thanks

Win 10 GTX770 SLi i7 3770k @4.3ghz H70 8 gig Kingston HyperXHAF X CM1000w AsusVE278HE @144Hz
ashmanuk67 is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 19th Sep 2013, 11:36   #16
IvanDobskey
Mobster
 
Joined: Feb 2010
Location: Midlands
Posts: 3,848
This is the main reason I always just buy the single most powerful GPU I can afford and don't bother with sli. Just too many issues with stutter and games that don't work well with it.

P8Z68-V PRO/GEN3|8GB Vengeance DDR3|2500K@4.3GHz
Noctua NH-D14|250GB Evo 850|Silverstone TJ09
Corsair TX650|EVGA GTX780|VP2770-LED
IvanDobskey is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 19th Sep 2013, 11:51   #17
ashmanuk67
Wise Guy
 
Joined: May 2007
Location: Kent
Posts: 1,300
Quote:
Originally Posted by Davanius View Post
After a quick googling, this is the first result.

http://battlelog.battlefield.com/bf3...4490021812682/

Someone there mentions the same thing about mesh quality and others mention poor optimization. It's more or less the same results to what I found when searching for answers a while back.

Stuttering and lags could also be overheating of cpu etc so do check on that.
interesting read on Battlelog forums thanks for that, I will have a play tonight with mesh etc.. I hope BF4 is much more optimized for dual cards

I do now understand that the GPu's are producing more than the CPU can cope with but still gutting.

Win 10 GTX770 SLi i7 3770k @4.3ghz H70 8 gig Kingston HyperXHAF X CM1000w AsusVE278HE @144Hz
ashmanuk67 is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 19th Sep 2013, 11:55   #18
ashmanuk67
Wise Guy
 
Joined: May 2007
Location: Kent
Posts: 1,300
Quote:
Originally Posted by IvanDobskey View Post
This is the main reason I always just buy the single most powerful GPU I can afford and don't bother with sli. Just too many issues with stutter and games that don't work well with it.
have to say if i had the money in the first place i would have gone 780 only, but then i here so much bout 50-70% gains in SLi i thought it would have worked out better for me

Now to save up for a 3770K and now i'm not going to change motherboard to get Haswell.

Win 10 GTX770 SLi i7 3770k @4.3ghz H70 8 gig Kingston HyperXHAF X CM1000w AsusVE278HE @144Hz
ashmanuk67 is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 19th Sep 2013, 12:27   #19
Random Guy
Wise Guy
 
Joined: Nov 2007
Posts: 2,387
Its a shame to be sure. I have a 680 SLI setup and it has executed flawlessly so far in an X58 system, especially for BF3 - I had some issues with Nvidia drivers, but they ironed them out eventually. Just upgraded to Z68 yesterday with i7 2600k - would be interesting to compare our respective results once I have her ready to rock.

There is no greater distance between two people(s) than misunderstanding.
Random Guy is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 19th Sep 2013, 13:35   #20
Ripjaw
Hitman
 
Ripjaw's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2013
Posts: 929
Quote:
Originally Posted by Marine-RX179 View Post
That's because your CPU only need to push frame rate to as high as the 7850 itself can chuck out (30-40fps), whereas OP need the CPU to push the frame rate to as high as the pair of GTX770 (120fps+) to not bottleneck. So basically his CPU need to push 3-4 times the frame rate of your CPU.
Ah right gottcha
Ripjaw is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 19th Sep 2013, 13:53   #21
ashmanuk67
Wise Guy
 
Joined: May 2007
Location: Kent
Posts: 1,300
Quote:
Originally Posted by Random Guy View Post
Its a shame to be sure. I have a 680 SLI setup and it has executed flawlessly so far in an X58 system, especially for BF3 - I had some issues with Nvidia drivers, but they ironed them out eventually. Just upgraded to Z68 yesterday with i7 2600k - would be interesting to compare our respective results once I have her ready to rock.
I would be very interested in your thoughts on your upgrade

Also i will give the 327.24 a go, you never know :P

Win 10 GTX770 SLi i7 3770k @4.3ghz H70 8 gig Kingston HyperXHAF X CM1000w AsusVE278HE @144Hz
Last edited by ashmanuk67; 19th Sep 2013 at 13:59.
ashmanuk67 is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 19th Sep 2013, 21:58   #22
ashmanuk67
Wise Guy
 
Joined: May 2007
Location: Kent
Posts: 1,300
Well an interesting update to my issue I did turn MESH down in BF3 but could not see much change.
I then downloaded the latest Nvidia beta driver 327.24 this has made it better but overall still laggy and stuttering
Then i followed a link from the Battelog forums kindley posted by Davanius

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=pl3u9eiskM4

Please have a look at this as i done what the guy said in the video and this has made a huge difference
CPU CORE PARKING never heard of this before but for me it has made BF3 run much better.

Have you guys done this?? if so did make your BF3 run better?

Win 10 GTX770 SLi i7 3770k @4.3ghz H70 8 gig Kingston HyperXHAF X CM1000w AsusVE278HE @144Hz
ashmanuk67 is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 20th Sep 2013, 09:22   #23
Random Guy
Wise Guy
 
Joined: Nov 2007
Posts: 2,387
I have heard of Core Parking but never had to investigate it because I never had performance issues with BF3. Afaik, the SB CPUs are normally mentioned in these cases, so thanks for the link - I might be needing it soon.

(Update on my build: The first OS install was a disaster, with BSODs all over the place. Second time around seems to be going better, but I need some time to verify overall stability).

Some more on Core Parking and SB: http://forums.evga.com/tm.aspx?m=1470554&mpage=1

There is no greater distance between two people(s) than misunderstanding.
Random Guy is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 20th Sep 2013, 18:52   #24
ashmanuk67
Wise Guy
 
Joined: May 2007
Location: Kent
Posts: 1,300
The way it's running at the moment I don't feel the need to upgrade my processor but I shall see how BF4 plays

Thanks for the link Random Guy

Win 10 GTX770 SLi i7 3770k @4.3ghz H70 8 gig Kingston HyperXHAF X CM1000w AsusVE278HE @144Hz
ashmanuk67 is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 20th Sep 2013, 19:25   #25
Neil79
Caporegime
 
Joined: Sep 2006
Location: On Ocuk
Posts: 33,060
Not sure what to suggest, BF3 can run well or run *** and it's not always based on your hardware

i7 4790K 4.6 1.275v, MSI Z97 Gaming 5, Superflower 850 PSU, 16GB Kingston, EVGA GTX 980 1553mhz, 2xSSD EVO, AIO Liquid Cooler, Dell Gsync 144HZ 1440p
Neil79 is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 20th Sep 2013, 20:05   #26
wazza300
Caporegime
 
wazza300's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2009
Location: BenefitStreetBirmingham
Posts: 26,471
@ op pick up a 2600k/2700k and feel the difference

wazza300 is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 20th Sep 2013, 20:15   #27
Neil79
Caporegime
 
Joined: Sep 2006
Location: On Ocuk
Posts: 33,060
I have an i5 2500k at 4.6/4.7 and it's awesomesauce

i7 4790K 4.6 1.275v, MSI Z97 Gaming 5, Superflower 850 PSU, 16GB Kingston, EVGA GTX 980 1553mhz, 2xSSD EVO, AIO Liquid Cooler, Dell Gsync 144HZ 1440p
Neil79 is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 20th Sep 2013, 20:33   #28
wazza300
Caporegime
 
wazza300's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2009
Location: BenefitStreetBirmingham
Posts: 26,471
They are fine,but multithreaded games will always benefit from a hyperthreaded CPU

wazza300 is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 21st Sep 2013, 02:06   #29
shankly1985
Capodecina
 
shankly1985's Avatar
 
Joined: Nov 2011
Location: The KOP
Posts: 13,521
Quote:
Originally Posted by wazza300 View Post
@ op pick up a 2600k/2700k and feel the difference
Quote:
Originally Posted by wazza300 View Post
They are fine,but multithreaded games will always benefit from a hyperthreaded CPU
This...

I had a i5 2500k was superb with my single 7950, then I went crossfire that's where I found out the i5 isn't enough on some games with crossfire.

Sold i5 2500k and got i7 2600k and now both GPU's get 100% usage.


My Setup - http://goo.gl/nDxJMN "YNWA"
shankly1985 is online now   View trust for Reply With Quote
Old 21st Sep 2013, 07:09   #30
ashmanuk67
Wise Guy
 
Joined: May 2007
Location: Kent
Posts: 1,300
Mmm ok we'll sounds like there is room for improvement I think I need to start selling stuff on the bay lol

Why an i7 2600k? I can only see 3770's on OC's

Win 10 GTX770 SLi i7 3770k @4.3ghz H70 8 gig Kingston HyperXHAF X CM1000w AsusVE278HE @144Hz
Last edited by ashmanuk67; 21st Sep 2013 at 07:26.
ashmanuk67 is offline   View trust for Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 16:17.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Overclockers UK (Ocuk Ltd)