• Competitor rules

Please remember that any mention of competitors, hinting at competitors or offering to provide details of competitors will result in an account suspension. The full rules can be found under the 'Terms and Rules' link in the bottom right corner of your screen. Just don't mention competitors in any way, shape or form and you'll be OK.

14700k getting too hot?

Associate
I noticed the other night that my 14700k is getting up to just shy of 90c when processing and encoding video. Theres a lot of videos and advice out there to undervolt to get temps down but Im kind of reluctant as Im very new to pc’s and theres probably a high risk of me cocking something up.

I havent checked temps while gaming and have only played warzone on it so far but Im not sure my fps is where it should be at (might be due to my ram speed?) so im also wary about losing performance and fps by undervolting. Idle temps are fine, 31-33 but Im just wondering what that 90c will be in the summer time.

Should I even be concerned by 90 and would you advise undervolting?

Last edited:
Soldato
If the process and decoding of video is making it hit 90c but you are 30s when idle, this just sounds like the CPU is using all its thermal limits to maximise its speed across all cores at the same time. As long as it isn't throttling at those temps then it should be fine and you will likely see temps in the 60s or maybe 70s when gaming I reckon, as games are definitely not as CPU intensive as something like video encoding.

Man of Honour
Can you give us a screenshot from a monitoring program like hwmonitor or hwinfo so that we know what the power draw is like.

In short: if your CPU is hitting max turbo, then 90 C is not unusual (especially on air), though it depends on the cooling that you have.

I'd suggest turning off any automatic overclocking that the motherboard enables by default, see here:

Associate
OP