Undervolting i9 14900k Asus rog strix z790-f WiFi 2

Associate
Hello everybody.

I am kind of new to overclocking, I would like to ask some help.
Checked one forum here

With the above settings games crash nearly immediately after launch, sometimes even bsod or freeze and need to reboot with power button

specs:
z790-f gaming motherboard wifi2
64 GB ddr5 Corsair vengeance (2*32 A1b1)
Rog strix Rtx 4070ti
Corsair 650w fully modular gold psu

please help, I would like to achieve lower temps.

Last edited:
Soldato
First thing that rings alarm bells is your psu, 650w with a 4070 and 14900k under load will be very close power wise, most if not all 14900k's run very very warm at stock, the cpu can pull upward of 300w+, thats why they run super warm. You can set a 253w cpu limit that will drop temps a bit and power wise your psu may be ok, being on amd i'm not familiar with intel settings but try a power limit of 253w and see what happens.

Another tick is to set a manual ratio of the cpu, from what other have said reducing to x54 seems to stop crashing and reduces temps of the cpu.

Soldato
Have you tested the system on default bios settings to make sure its not something you have done causing the crashing?

What are you using to cool the CPU, Air or AIO? whats the brand of it etc

Last edited:
Associate
OP
Have you tested the system on default bios settings to make sure its not something you have done causing the crashing?

What are you using to cool the CPU, Air or AIO? whats the brand of it etc
So I did test on default. It runs fine and no performance issues to be fair, however in 3dmark time spy can heat the CPU over 100c . I have air-cooler noctua nh-d15 swapped factory fans for noctua 3000 rpm industrial fans X3 on CPU heatsink and have 3 intake on the front and 2 exhaust top and 1 exhaust at back. All noctua industrial 3k rpm the case is a fractal pop air XL. I just would like to try undervolting for lower temps, but whatever guide I follow I get instabil system.