WTB road bike

Man of Honour
Hello,

If I can get 0% finance on something, I can happily spend up to 1k ish on a bike. Obviously I'd rather spend less. I don't CARE how fast it goes; I won't be racing anyone. I don't care what colour it is. I don't know enough to care about components, so I thought I'd ask some people that might.

I ended up (in a thread back last August), putting some semi slicks on my hardtail and I've been riding that, but it doesn't seem to go as well as my dad's ancient Halfords racer thing that he bought when he was about 20.

Plus I'd quite like to take it off road again.

What I want out of a bike:
Something that's expensive enough for it not to be ****
Something that's cheap enough to allow me to buy other stuff I might need, e.g. I don't have a decent bike computer (or one that works). I might want to go for clippy pedal things and shoes. I have never tried using them before.

Perhaps one day I will decided to cycle 30 miles to work and back instead of driving. It's on a mainly flatish route (vale of york) so I don't see why it wouldn't be possible. Especially if they decide to install a shower at work. I will push that.

I can cycle 30 miles in a day fine, but my buttocks aren't in training for it to be a regular thing.

My usual routes are pretty hilly though, near my house. Something that makes getting up those easier would be nice.
I know nothing about road bikes, other than there are a few places that sell them. I probably wouldn't be able to notice much of a difference if I took some out on a demo.

Halp, please :)

I'm only about 5' 8-9 with little legs, which is annoying. Also I am fat.

Soldato
I would go for a ribble gran fondo at £800 - £1400 depending on the spec you choose.
They do interest free credit over 9 months.

Or, sign up for a 0% credit card and buy a planet-x or boardman.

Last edited:
Man of Honour
OP
I would go for a ribble gran fondo at £800 - £1400 depending on the spec you choose.