Woolwich serious incident

Caporegime
I think you might be somewhat surprised by the religious and ethnic make-up of Canada. It is a place with a huge variety of cultures, especially in the larger cities. For reference their 2011 Census states that the population is approximately 3.2% Muslim (Wikipedia) and Britain is probably around 4-5% Muslim - it's not a huge disparity.

Does that figure include estimates for the number of illegal Muslim immigrants in this country? I simply don't believe that it's only 4-5% of the population.

Soldato
I follow Christ. I've never gone out to deliberately harm anyone.

And anyway, when was the last time a Christian went to an Islamic country and hacked a Muslim to death? Even if it did happen, you certainly couldn't justify it using the new testament.

I can tell you, I am a Muslim, I haven't killed anyone here.

Soldato
Really good article written by an ex soldier here. Highlight snippets:
I am a former soldier. I completed one tour of duty in Afghanistan, refused on legal and moral grounds to serve a second tour

So at the very outset, and before the rising tide of prejudice and pseudo-patriotism fully encloses us

It should by now be self-evident that by attacking Muslims overseas, you will occasionally spawn twisted and, as we saw yesterday, even murderous hatred at home. We need to recognise that, given the continued role our government has chosen to play in the US imperial project in the Middle East, we are lucky that these attacks are so few and far between.

Vast swaths of the British population also stand in opposition to these wars, including many veterans of the wars like myself and Ross, as well as serving soldiers I speak to who cannot be named here for fear of persecution