I’ve installed Ubuntu

Soldato
Now what?!?

I’ve setup a Win10 x64/Ubuntu dual boot. Configured boot order, installed Google Chrome, Open Office and a couple of other bits (on Ubuntu) - now what?

I’m a sysadmin by trade, so any app recommends, particularly system tools, tinkering and what not.

I haven’t had much exposure to Ubuntu or *ix at all but ready to learn.

Associate
Ubuntu is nice to start with as you can do most things without having to tweak, configure or build - just get things done with GUI applications to start with, and gradually get deeper into learning and managing the system. If you're a novice, the Ubuntu forums are a good place to start, but when searching stuff from Stack Exchange in the results tends to be quite useful.

OMG Ubuntu has some useful articles on it for beginners, such as this one - in particular, as you have an Nvidia graphics card, you'll want to make sure you've installed the proprietary driver. That article should be enough to get you started, but off the top of my head these are my suggestions for other things to look at:
  • Experiment with different text editors (command line and GUI) - if you like something similar to Notepad++, try Notepadqq.
  • Have a nose around /var/log to see what crops up in what log file.
  • Bookmark commandlinefu.com
  • You'll probably want to know how to search for files on the command line at some point rather just use a GUI - useful for scripting and whatnot
  • If you're a sysadmin, you'll want to dive into shell scripting - Bash is the usual interactive shell in Ubuntu and I find great for scripting. I learnt shell such a long time ago I used a book (this actual real dead-tree edition) to learn.
  • System tools - lm-sensors (should be OK with your motherboard, but if you're missing anything you might need a more recent kernel)
  • If you want to set up a firewall - start with UFW rather than going straight into iptables.