***The Official Home Recording Studio Thread***

Soldato
@Lowe and @BigDannyO

How about this:

Oktava MK 012 stereo pair, in X/Y one pointing towards centre of treble strings other pointing towards centre of bass strings (and halfway up the strings). Recording into a Tascam dr-100mkiii.

I watched a pretty long full fat review of this.

As I'm new to all of this, I plan to record the whole performance and recording in one go which will be somewhere between 90 and 120 minutes. The Tascam has the feature to split the recording up over every 5/10/15/30 minutes so you get loads of files by the end of it. The reviewer said you should do this otherwise it's really hard to sync the audio and video later. Due to audio drift. Is it really that much of a pain to sync up audio over 2 hours?

The camera will be recording PAL 1080p50 and the recorder I can do anywhere from 16/44.1 to 24/192. I will leave the audio recording on the camera on, and I might try to mix some in for some ambient sounds but it will help me to sync the audio in the first place.

Last edited:
Soldato
Just quickly checking with all of you that this is alright before I order:

Recorder: Tascam DR100 mk iii
Mics: Stereo Matched Oktava MK 012 MSP-2
Stand: a K&M boom stand
Mounts: Stereo Bar with shock mounts for both mics
Cables: Some reasonably priced 3 metre XLR cables

This is how it will be setup in the picture below, obviously without the orchestra and the piano will have its lid on.

Un9pleo.jpg

I'll be recording a grand piano in a church. For mic configurations I'm open to suggestions, they're both cardioids. I can go A B stereo pair outside of the piano pointing at the lid. I can go ORTF inside one pointed at centre of bass strings one pointed at centre of treble strings. I can go X/Y for the same. I think ORTF to get the mics pointed in the right direction at 110 degrees they'd have to be pretty close to the strings. Worried they will sound too bright then.