Home Server for 20-40 VMs

Associate
Hi folks.

I'm looking to build a new PC that will run 24/7 for 20-40 VMware VMs.

The VMs themselves will only be used for HTML5 stuff on web browsers, so nothing too intensive. Will be 3gb RAM per VM.

The idea is that I'll remote into the server from my main PC so I can access the different VM's quickly.

I've built myself a parts list from some research but I'm fairly new to this stuff so want to run it by some more experienced people first.

I'm pretty sure this is already a bit overkill, but allows room for more VM's in the future if needed.

My main concern is the RAM. Someone else told me I'd be better off getting an ECC RAM kit rather than purchasing RAM separately, but I'm not sure if this is actually required for my needs? Was also told to get either 4 or 8 RAM sticks rather than 6.

The GPU is from a previous build as there's no others available for obvious reasons, but as I won't be gaming it should be fine anyway.

Appreciate any advice.

99w18fY

Soldato
It depends how much you care about stability and data loss.

You can look at the Micron MTA18ASF4G72AZ-3G2B1 modules which are 32GB each ECC Unbuffered DIMMs and run at 3200MHz, the stock timings are pretty poor but they can be tightened easily. I've used it on two different builds and it was great, it's also pretty darn cheap so that is also a bonus. You want multiples of 4x RAM modules for Quad channel configuration

Rest of your parts look fine, although I'd probably go for PCI-E 4.0 M.2 drives if you are spending all that money, more IOPS = more better, and the extra speed can't be a bad thing.

Associate
OP
It depends how much you care about stability and data loss.