• Competitor rules

Please remember that any mention of competitors, hinting at competitors or offering to provide details of competitors will result in an account suspension. The full rules can be found under the 'Terms and Rules' link in the bottom right corner of your screen. Just don't mention competitors in any way, shape or form and you'll be OK.

3700x big issues

Soldato
OK, so some of you know I've been complaining since Jan 2021 that my ram overclock of 3600MHz is now unstable.

As a bit of background for some of you reading this for the first time I ran my 8 pack 3200MHz ram at 3600MHz 14,15,15,30 @ 1.47v with no issues for about a year. I installed my RTX 3080 in Jan and all went pear shaped since then.

The conclusion eventually was heat. The heat from the RTX 3080 was pushing the ram over the edge of stability.

Fast forward to now and for the last couple of months I have struggled to run my ram at at any timings at 3600MHz. My ram is apparently officially rated to run at 3600MHz 16,16,16,36 @ 1.35v according to the product page. Even that proves unstable. I tried adding SOC and VDDG voltage but it doesn't make a difference.

Also the last two weeks something else has started to happen. My BIOS is really laggy. :(

Keyboard presses take a while to register there are pauses and it will also just continue to scroll as if I am holding down an arrow key.

Resetting the BIOS solves it for a while.

I had a theory today that perhaps the SOC or FCLK on the CPU is faulty. I set the FCLK to 1800 and left everything else on auto and I had some weirdness in windows with the UI. Hard to explain.

I know the FCLK and memory are meant to be able to run uncoupled but I thought maybe it might help if I made the ram run 1:1 with the FCLK so I applied the 3600MHz at 1.35v with loose timings.

Reboot and bios is laggy again, but Windows seems fine. Of course it's only temporary stability as I know I can no longer run at 3600MHz what ever I try.