The Great Resignation

Soldato
Many will have seen this coming up in the news recently. It was predicted that due to the pandemic that people would start to reassess what they are doing in their lives and this includes work. The expectation was that a large number of people would resign for a fresh start, a completely different role, work less or not at all. I work in the tech sector and in the last few weeks I’ve noticed this is just starting to gain momentum. Resignations are running at around twice as many as they usually do and the rate is increasing. They expect 41% in the US and other countries predicting similar or higher numbers are going to resign.

For me the pandemic did have an effect on what I did at work. In the middle of the pandemic I did ask to change roles to an area I am much more interested in doing and the idea of not working to old age really started to grow on me. I have even dabbled with the idea of moving to another company and that’s still on the cards depending on how I feel about things over the coming months.

Anyone else noticed the impacts of the great resignation on their industries or have possibly considered it themselves?

Associate
Have seen loads of surprising resignations at my place - it’s a nice place to work with good pay. I suppose the IT is a bit dated and the senior mangers aren’t very inspirational but nothing major.

All the resignations started beginning of September and don’t think it will let up anything soon.

I’ve thought about going as well. Similar money but better working from home benefits are the draw for me.

Soldato
Seeing a lot of turnover in our India development centres and its across the whole industry. Developers there are getting 30%+ pay bumps each time they move. It will calm down, there's no way that's affordable to the employers after a while.

I'll be part of an interview panel in the next few weeks for the first time in well over 20 years !

Associate