Poll: *** The official Mac Studio thread (it has Apple Silicon, lots of ports and everything!) ***

Are you going to buy an Apple Studio?

• Total voters
Soldato
M1 is rubbish at gaming anyway, it’s all about the compute/productivity performance.

All we have to go on right now is apples graphs. They say the Ultra is faster than what I assume to be a 5950X and a 3090 in those applications but they didn’t say exactly which parts in the presentation.

Caporegime
No for me, I’m new to Mac and using a 16gb mini is far faster than the pc I had for the photo editing I used to do. I’ve not had it troubled at all and neither have any of the content makers I follow for video editing, so not really seeing the need. It’s also fugly.

If gaming ever properly took off on a Mac then I’d be interested but otherwise what the hell are you doing to need that much power?

Soldato
No for me, I’m new to Mac and using a 16gb mini is far faster than the pc I had for the photo editing I used to do. I’ve not had it troubled at all and neither have any of the content makers I follow for video editing, so not really seeing the need. It’s also fugly.

If gaming ever properly took off on a Mac then I’d be interested but otherwise what the hell are you doing to need that much power?

I'm currently working on an 24" iMac M1 with 16GB RAM.

I often have open:
  • Photoshop
  • InDesign
  • Illustrator
  • Chrome (many windows + tabs)
  • Safari
  • Word and/or PowerPoint
  • Spotify
  • Notes
  • Transmit
Depending on the document(s) I'm working on, it can struggle.

The Studio with M1 Max 10/32 core and 64GB RAM should handle my day-to-day above and hopefully be future-proofed for a good few years to come.

Commissario
OP
As long as they are specifically optimised for the M1 - last time I checked for generic multi platform apps like Handbrake, M1 still trailed behind