My '67 Triumph GT6 - An Ongoing Project Log

Associate
As some of you know I purchased a 1967 Triumph GT6 last year with the view of learning some mechanics. I haven't really posted about it on here so I thought it was time to put up a ongoing progress log thread as you guys might find it interesting.

I am a complete novice when it come to car mechanics so this has been and continues to be a massive learning experience for me. I wouldn't have got as far as I have with the car if wasn't for some good (and much more knowledgeable) friends of mine so a lot of the credit should go to them.

So far I haven't really done much “mechanical” work on the car. The rear transverse leaf spring was replaced by a garage near me. I would have loved to do that myself however I don't really have the space or equipment to do it in my garage (lifting equipment etc...). Here is a list of thing that were done last year:

• Replace the rear leaf spring
  • Replaced the radio with a genuine 60's unit (Which had FM on as standard) and place a speaker in the car.
  • Re-trimmed the centre console
  • Replaced the handbrake cable
  • Refitted new locks throughout the car
  • Swapped the number plates for some proper black as silver ones (This totally transformed the car)
  • Refurbished the front triumph logo badge