3060 ti Gaming X Trio - poor overclocking

Associate
Joined
4 Oct 2019
Posts
1,048
Location
Belfast
Hi all

I managed to get an MSI gaming X Trio 3060 ti and I can’t do more than +100 on the core and RAM.

Could I have a potato?

reviews of the card state that it can go well above 2000mhz ram speed so I think I did get an absolute turd.

The onboard RAM is Samsung, which should overclock very nicely.

temps are great and it has plenty of airflow.

should I sell it and get a 3070?
 
Associate
OP
Joined
4 Oct 2019
Posts
1,048
Location
Belfast
It could be at its limt,seems nvidia do that these days with their cards.
I could have a model with RAM that just barely meets the 1830 RAM speed.

I would love to get the RAM to 2000mhz and above.

I can’t buy or sell on the forums just yet (nearly at the min membership but well under the number of posts required) but when I do, I’ll be buying myself some nice overclocking goodies
 
Associate
Joined
31 Dec 2020
Posts
9
Is your motherboard ram (ddr4) overclocked? I had problems oc my 3060ti which looked like a gfx problem that was actually a ram issue. Probably a long shot but try down clocking your ram maybe/ update mobo bios
 
Last edited:
Associate
OP
Joined
4 Oct 2019
Posts
1,048
Location
Belfast
Is your motherboard ram (ddr4) overclocked? I had problems oc my 3060ti which looked like a gfx problem that was actually a ram issue. Probably a long shot but try down clocking your ram maybe/ update mobo bios

hey. Yes, my RAM is very heavily overclocked.

I have Micron Rev E that has been overclocking from 3200 CL16 to ~3827 CL 15-18-15-17.

BCLK at 100.75 and FCLK at 1800.

I’ll try this and see if the GPU responds. Thank you very much.
 
Associate
OP
Joined
4 Oct 2019
Posts
1,048
Location
Belfast
Is your motherboard ram (ddr4) overclocked? I had problems oc my 3060ti which looked like a gfx problem that was actually a ram issue. Probably a long shot but try down clocking your ram maybe/ update mobo bios
Thanks for the input! Thanks to your words about overclocking, I managed to find the voltage/frequency curve editor in MSI afterburner.

I'm now running +100 on the core and +500 on the RAM.
 
Associate
Joined
31 Dec 2020
Posts
9
If I remember correctly some have had problems with dragon centre and afterburner too. Also there is a beta version of afterburner which I find better, voltage is actually unlockable and the oc scanner works.
 
Associate
OP
Joined
4 Oct 2019
Posts
1,048
Location
Belfast
If I remember correctly some have had problems with dragon centre and afterburner too. Also there is a beta version of afterburner which I find better, voltage is actually unlockable and the oc scanner works.

No, I was just not using Afterburner properly - I currently have a +1400 mem clock and +100 core clock on the graphics card.

100% stable. 3060 Ti is great value, even at £500.
 
Top Bottom