1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

5700 moddable to 5700XT performance?

Discussion in 'Graphics Cards' started by Psycho Sonny, Sep 5, 2019.

  1. Psycho Sonny

    Suspended

    Joined: Jun 21, 2006

    Posts: 30,920

    Was watching a youtube video where someone said that the 5700 is the exact same as a 5700XT just software locked down.

    You can try flashing a 5700XT BIOS or modding it someohow and overclocking it to get 5700XT performance easily enough.

    Why aren't more people on here talking about this? Surely the 5700 is the best GPU out there in the bang for buck and available cheap enough and the power it can get up to is a bargain.
     
  2. Chrisc

    Hitman

    Joined: Jun 29, 2016

    Posts: 961

    Location: Up Norf

    You can do it with the Vega 56, it seems like quite an advance thing to do. i myself wouldnt really feel comfortable doing it.
     
  3. Bounce

    Wise Guy

    Joined: Dec 22, 2011

    Posts: 1,184

    Location: Stoke-on-Trent

    I imagine warranty being void is putting people off trying it.
     
  4. Poneros

    Mobster

    Joined: Feb 18, 2015

    Posts: 3,213

     
  5. Psycho Sonny

    Suspended

    Joined: Jun 21, 2006

    Posts: 30,920

    I can't watch the video just now but if it can be done in a minute it makes me think even more. Why aren't more people talking about this.

    You have people constantly complaining about GPU pricing yet this seems to be cheap and offer ridiculous amounts of power after spending a minute changing some settings and pressing some buttons.

    Come on people explain why nobody is talking about this on an overclocking forum?
     
  6. willhub

    Capodecina

    Joined: Jan 3, 2006

    Posts: 21,743

    Location: MediaCityUK

    Won't ever be 5700XT performance as 4 compute units locked permanently.
     
  7. nutsnut

    Wise Guy

    Joined: Apr 22, 2009

    Posts: 1,740

    Location: Birmingham

    This wouldn't be the first time an email is amd card has been flashable to unlock hardware. Was the video suggesting the bios flash made unlocked the additional cores/rops on the 5700 making it identical to the XT? Or was it just changes power tables so it performed the same as a stock XT?
     
  8. willhub

    Capodecina

    Joined: Jan 3, 2006

    Posts: 21,743

    Location: MediaCityUK

    You can't unlock anything on the core. 4 compute units are hardware locked and can't be unlock
     
  9. Psycho Sonny

    Suspended

    Joined: Jun 21, 2006

    Posts: 30,920

    How close is performance after whatever the video shows does its thing?
     
  10. Mark1989

    Capodecina

    Joined: Dec 5, 2008

    Posts: 12,538

    As mentioned there is a hardware lock in place so it won't ever be a 5700XT

    I think the last time they a truly flashable card was way back in the day when they released a gto2 and could be flashed to next model up (I did it myself)

    Once amd caught on though they did a hardware revision stopping it from what I recall
     
  11. nutsnut

    Wise Guy

    Joined: Apr 22, 2009

    Posts: 1,740

    Location: Birmingham

    4gb to 8gb 480 card.

    R290 flashed to R290x
     
  12. Aretak

    Wise Guy

    Joined: May 26, 2014

    Posts: 1,769

    Early Fury cards were potentially unlockable to the full Fury X 64 CUs with nothing more than a BIOS flash. Others were able to unlock 4 of the missing 8 CUs to become essentially their own SKU. Sometimes the locked CUs were locked off for good reason and unstable, but some lucky people got the full 64 running fine (with 60 being a lot more common). AMD eventually started lasering them off instead of locking them behind a BIOS toggle though.

    There have been some others over the years. The 6950 could be simply flashed to a 6970. RX 460s can be flashed to an RX 560 to unlock the missing shaders too.
     
  13. d_brennen

    Capodecina

    Joined: Jan 30, 2009

    Posts: 15,370

    Location: Aquilonem Londinensi

    Having dual BIOS makes modding like this worth having a go. Wouldn't do it on a new single BIOS card though
     
  14. Nasher

    Capodecina

    Joined: Nov 22, 2006

    Posts: 13,787

    You could do it, but not really. Vega64 is physically different with much more memory bandwidth.
     
  15. Mark1989

    Capodecina

    Joined: Dec 5, 2008

    Posts: 12,538

    From what I recall though they weren't exactly full unlocks? Ram aside didn't even that still not get the same bandwidth etc

    Plus the 480 wasn't it only on certain ones xfx or reference?

    The gto2 was just doable on everything if memory serves me right
     
  16. Freddie1980

    Soldato

    Joined: Sep 25, 2009

    Posts: 6,858

    Location: Billericay, UK

    Is actually unlocking shaders cores or is it just allowing a 5700 to run clock speeds that have been set for an XT?