• Competitor rules

Please remember that any mention of competitors, hinting at competitors or offering to provide details of competitors will result in an account suspension. The full rules can be found under the 'Terms and Rules' link in the bottom right corner of your screen. Just don't mention competitors in any way, shape or form and you'll be OK.

6950 Vs 570

Associate
Hi Guys,

My set-up is:

600W PSU
I5-2500K OC 4.5GHz
4GB Ram
MSI Twin Frozr 6950 2GB Ram OC

The graphics card is faulty so I have been offered a direct replacement or a MSI GeForce GTX 570 OC Twin FrozR III Power Edition 1280MB.

I have no experience of this card, so can anyone comment on which would be better? I mainly use for videos and gaming, currently playing Skyrim on 2560x1440, Ultra with 60fps (dipping sometimes but genereally stable).

I have tried the Mass Effect 3 demo (my next purchase) and get the same kind of performance.

Should I stick with the 6950 (any experience OC this one to 6970?) or will I see enough of a difference to go with the nVidia card?

Thanks.

Soldato
Considering your resolution, I would ask for a card with large amount of Video RAM (ie a direct replacement). The GTX 570 GPU usually beats the HD 6950 in tests, but at 2560x1440 resolution playing current and upcoming games the 1.28GB on the GTX 570 is likely to limit you, so a HD 6950 is a better bet imho.

Soldato
Faster card or more VRAM? Hmmm... I'd take faster card any time:) 570!

There's a fundamental flaw in that logic, though.

The 6950 can run anything on the market at 1080p on max.

The 570 will run short of vram.

The frames from the faster card are all completely pointless if the card doesn't have enough vram. So you will either be lowering settings or at worst (if you don't want to compromise) not be playing the games.