1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

970's having performance issues using 4GB Vram - Nvidia investigating

Discussion in 'Graphics Cards' started by kitch9, Jan 23, 2015.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. PayneUK

    Gangster

    Joined: Nov 21, 2014

    Posts: 413

    Location: Newcastle Upon Tyne

    No more or less than I expected from the first statement on this topic from NVidia, my main concern is that if they genuinely feel there is no issue then they are most likely not going to try and fix anything.

    If we’re lucky this is just them trying to buy a bit of time to look into it further, work on a resolution and resolve whatever issue may be there.

    At the end of the day no matter how many tests are done it ultimately come's down to NVidia saying definitively one way or another. From my experience and what I’ve read so far I feel there is an issue, what I don’t know yet is what I’m going to do or how long I’m going to wait to base my decision on NVidia.
     
  2. Legend

    Soldato

    Joined: Dec 31, 2006

    Posts: 7,011

    I thought, and correct me if I'm wrong, but those people could see it was using north of 3.5 but less than 4? I know some of the legit benchmarks showed that anyway. Of course more testing and analysis is required, but for now I'm not buying Nvidia's response. It's like they're saying "no problem here folks, move along"... yet I don't think we'd have a 23-page thread about this if 970 users had encountered zero "performance ramifications." Time will tell how this plays out, but it feels a bit like a runaway train at the moment.
     
  3. triss

    Mobster

    Joined: Nov 16, 2013

    Posts: 2,716

    What would be ridiculous would be trying to put others with a differing option to your own in a certain camp . :rolleyes:

    People can have many different reasons for what they think, doesnt make them right/wrong or in a certain camp
     
  4. Legend

    Soldato

    Joined: Dec 31, 2006

    Posts: 7,011

    It's not an opinion... it makes no difference if Nvidia "told no lies"... of course they didn't. But if ANY product doesn't perform as it should, regardless of cause, that is the fault of the manufacturer, and in such cases you are entitled to a refund or repair of said product. This applies to microwaves, cars, phones, and anything else you care to mention. The 'honesty' of the manufacturer does not come in to it... although it could obviously only make matters worse if dishonesty was involved.
     
  5. Dirk Diggler

    Capodecina

    Joined: Jan 6, 2013

    Posts: 14,290

    I was having a play through on Battlefield 4 last night, everything on ultra with frame rates hovering between 80-120. With everything running silky smooth and temps in the high 60s, a question niggled at me... What exactly is the "problem" with these cards! :D

    Seriously, if you were to fill in the RMA form right now, what would you put on it as the reason for return?
     
  6. Mei

    Mobster

    Joined: Jan 3, 2012

    Posts: 3,983

    well nvidia are saying its part of the design not a fault and it only has a negative impact of about 3% compared to the 980 design
    PCP are backing them up on that as far as i see, saying its a cost saving measure but understandable, which isnt great if people are having bigger problems

    its up to them users to prove they have bigger problems i guess!
     
  7. james.miller

    Capodecina

    Joined: Aug 17, 2003

    Posts: 18,403

    Location: Woburn Sand Dunes

    Really Legend? and what has your contribution been to this 23 pages then? and of these 23 pages, how many people have managed to replicate these issues in gaming?
     
  8. whyscotty

    Sgarrista

    Joined: May 6, 2012

    Posts: 9,399

    Location: Wigan

    ^^^
    This
     
  9. Kronos

    Catwalker

    Joined: Nov 11, 2009

    Posts: 3,997

    Location: Edinburgh

    What are would like to know is, is the consensus that it is OK to spend 300 quid on a the 970 and not be concerned about this issue?
     
  10. snips86x

    Capodecina

    Joined: Nov 14, 2012

    Posts: 16,721

    Location: Close to Swindon, but not Swindon

    I would personally wait to see what happens.
     
  11. zpaf

    Gangster

    Joined: Jan 7, 2011

    Posts: 146

  12. Squink

    Mobster

    Joined: Apr 25, 2007

    Posts: 4,266

    I'm reminded of when Apple released the iphone4. There was a little join on the side of the body and if you held the phone there while making a call the signal dropped off. It was easy to replicate and was widely reported at the time.

    I don't recall Apple ever admitting liability, though they did go so far as to suggest people were holding the phone incorrectly. In the end they allowed all iphone4 purchasers to claim a free rubber bumper (rrp £25, cost to manufacture about 30p) to cover up the offending area that they denied existed in the first place.

    So if there's corporate consistency, expect a series of denials from nvidia, followed by suggestions for users to turn the settings down, followed by a free game for all 970 purchasers along the lines of Jet Set Willy remastered, the original MS DOS Day of the Tentacle or Quake 1.

    Then the nvidia proponents of the board will resurface, claiming there was never a problem in the first place but praising their response to unfounded rumours and accusations and attempting to undermine the complainers for trying to bamboozle a big cuddly company nvidia like a country bumpkin at a fayre.
     
  13. The Running Man

    Caporegime

    Joined: Oct 18, 2002

    Posts: 33,573

    Location: block 16, cell 12

    The way i read nvidia reply is yes they segment the ram due to the last 500mb being slower.

    it can be used and they hope it's not completely detrimental to gaming performance but you don't get the full bandwidth for all 4gb due to them cutting off smx's.

    If you did they would have no need to segment.
     
  14. Silent_Scone

    Capodecina

    Joined: Sep 5, 2011

    Posts: 12,467

    Location: Surrey

    There isn't even that much of a performance difference to be fair. If a 970 can run AC:U with DSR at UHD resolutions with Ultra settings then I would go as far as saying it's almost a complete non issue.

    Doesn't help people are looking at 980 performance, seeing the 970 is performing below ground there and putting 2+2 together and getting 6. Why they've neglected to divulge this information and choose this config is another matter though. Cost primarily I would think on available chips.
     
  15. Buckster

    Sgarrista

    Joined: Aug 20, 2006

    Posts: 8,333

    what do the specs say though - 4gb @ 224gb/second ?

    not sure where the formal specs for the 970 are
     
  16. Mei

    Mobster

    Joined: Jan 3, 2012

    Posts: 3,983

    yes its cost
    the same reason they use smaller bus than AMD and use compression instead
    they get a big boner on profit margins :o
     
  17. ICDP

    Wise Guy

    Joined: Dec 30, 2011

    Posts: 2,433

    Location: Belfast

    Dear oh dear, AMD R9 290X throttle problems = Nvidia fans on a rampage about AMD and shoddy quality. It is priceless to see the same folk on here defending Nvidia's quality control and corner cutting.

    I wasn't happy when AMD cut corners with that horrible reference cooler on the R9 290/X cards. I would not be happy if I bought a GTX970 only to find Nvidia cut some corners "because it only affects some games".
     
  18. james.miller

    Capodecina

    Joined: Aug 17, 2003

    Posts: 18,403

    Location: Woburn Sand Dunes

    How would you have done it, ICDP?
     
  19. Rangerjr1

    Mobster

    Joined: Sep 13, 2013

    Posts: 2,591

    It is not a PROBLEM, its a FEATURE. Go into the driver, and you can specify at which point (be it temps or fan noise) it should throttle. Its USER DEFINED. Any other regarding MSIAB is because of MSIAB, not AMD.

    .....................
     
  20. ICDP

    Wise Guy

    Joined: Dec 30, 2011

    Posts: 2,433

    Location: Belfast

    I'm referring to the fact that some throttled far more than others, even when tested in the same PC. Or what about the black screen of death due to poor VRAM in quite a number of R9 290/X.

    Regardless we are going off topic. This is more about how hypocritical some people can be.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.