Accidently "ran" a red light

Soldato
By mistake (misjudged) a traffic light and went through it as it was changing -or so I believe because I just can't remember, and I wouldn't deliberately run a red light. Anyhow, I have received a letter from the police stating they might prosecute or have me pay the £60.00 fine with 3 points. The thing is, I was out having a driving lesson with a friend, and on the insurance I am a named driver. The question is, is there a case for leaniency since the offence was accidental? I am not trying 2 get away with anything it's that it feels a little harsh as well as unlucky. I have not heard of a similar case like mine?

Soldato
Theres no such thing as accidently running a red light. You won't get caught 2 seconds after the light changes to red so its not like you misjudged it changing. Be a man and take it on the chin :)

Man of Honour
You don't accidently run red lights - you run read lights because you either ignore the amber, or you make a calculated decision to pass on amber even though the highway code states Amber = Stop and not 'Drop a cog, boot it, you can make it'.

Pay the fine.

Soldato
Running a red light is running a red light, whether you were out on a driving lesson or not.

I doubt they will be any more lenient... you should know that a red light means stop if you are in the driving seat. If you'd killed someone as a result of running a red, I dont think the fact that you were out on a driving lesson would be of any consellation to those affected.

You won't get caught 2 seconds after the light changes to red so its not like you misjudged it changing. Be a man and take it on the chin :)
Thought it was 3/4 of a second?

Jet

Jet

Soldato
Ask them to prove it first? With the picture evidence. If it turns out to be correct I wouldn't argue because to do so you would have to go to court and you risk a higher fine.

Soldato