1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

AMD R9 290 (Non-X, Pro, etc) Owners Club

Discussion in 'Graphics Cards' started by Orangey, Dec 25, 2013.

  1. dnic77

    Gangster

    Joined: Dec 7, 2011

    Posts: 170

    Location: Hartlepool

    surely this isnt normal? Its a msi r9 290 gaming. In afterburner i have to give it +100 just to get 1070mhz. Im reading that people are getting higher on stock volts. Plus the temps seem high for this card.

    [​IMG]
     
  2. Buckster

    Sgarrista

    Joined: Aug 20, 2006

    Posts: 8,073

    "silicon lottery"

    :(
     
  3. dnic77

    Gangster

    Joined: Dec 7, 2011

    Posts: 170

    Location: Hartlepool

    Could well be Buckster.
     
  4. new boy

    Mobster

    Joined: Jun 25, 2009

    Posts: 3,225

    Location: Weston-super-Mare

    Looks like your chip isn't great. Still, not like you would actually notice 50mhz or so, so I wouldn't loose too much sleep over it.
     
  5. MoodyB

    Mobster

    Joined: Jan 12, 2003

    Posts: 3,715

    Location: Motherwell, Scotland

    Just a heads-up for anyone running multi monitors, Display Fusion is on sale atm for £3.99 on Steam.
     
  6. dnic77

    Gangster

    Joined: Dec 7, 2011

    Posts: 170

    Location: Hartlepool

    Is anyone else running a MSI gaming card? Are those temps high for it being at stock?
     
  7. Johnny_O'Neill

    Associate

    Joined: Dec 24, 2014

    Posts: 20

    Yes they are high, especially if you are at 100% fan speed. You may need to reseat the cooler. (repaste while you do this too)
     
  8. heatonpkmassive

    Gangster

    Joined: May 22, 2015

    Posts: 494

    Location: Manchester

    I'd say so. I had one of those and it ran at 74-76c with the fans at about 70%. And that's in quite an old case with an i5 at 4.6Ghz.
     
  9. heatonpkmassive

    Gangster

    Joined: May 22, 2015

    Posts: 494

    Location: Manchester

    I'd say so. I had one of those and it ran at 74-76c with the fans at about 70%. And that's in quite an old case with an i5 at 4.6Ghz.
     
  10. dnic77

    Gangster

    Joined: Dec 7, 2011

    Posts: 170

    Location: Hartlepool

    thanks guys,ill I have some mx-2 paste so ill get it reseated tonight.
     
  11. Johnny_O'Neill

    Associate

    Joined: Dec 24, 2014

    Posts: 20

    Nice one, maybe check the vrm heatsink is making good contact too. Cant think of its name but when you take off the cooler theres still the block covering the vram etc? Just loosen the screws to that and then rescrew them down.
     
  12. dnic77

    Gangster

    Joined: Dec 7, 2011

    Posts: 170

    Location: Hartlepool

    Well the paste worked, top temp is 80 with a 50% fan speed. The vrms are still high though. Will try overclocking it again over the weekend
     
  13. heatonpkmassive

    Gangster

    Joined: May 22, 2015

    Posts: 494

    Location: Manchester

    That sounds far better. The VRMs always ran high on mine too but I'm informed that they can reliably run quite happily at 100c.

    AMD hardware always seems to be built to withstand high temps. It's not a 'feature' I particularly like, but I never worried about hardware failure.

    I'd say you're good now.
     
  14. Nexus18

    Capodecina

    Joined: Jun 4, 2009

    Posts: 23,236

    Decided to run a proper "benchmark" tool for the first time :p

    Is this about what I should be getting for my pc?

    [​IMG]
     
  15. thebennyboy

    Mobster

    Joined: Dec 23, 2013

    Posts: 3,428

    Add me to the owners club. :D

    Brand: Sapphire R9 290 Tri-X
    Core clock: 1150
    Memory clock: 1300
    VDDC Offset: +75
    Power Limit: 50%

    Got a score of 1926 in Unigine Heaven. Here is GPU-Z when the card is at full load:

    GPU-Z:
    [​IMG]

    Box:
    [​IMG]

    So far benching stable

    Core reaches about 81C and VRMs at about 85C. ASIC Quality is 75%, seems to be a very good clocker though.
     
    Last edited: Jul 14, 2015
  16. savagesam117

    Mobster

    Joined: Mar 18, 2012

    Posts: 4,834

    Location: Crawley

    Would say this is about right,

    I got a score of 1607 when mildy overclocked.
     
  17. Orangey

    Sgarrista

    Joined: Aug 22, 2008

    Posts: 8,289

    Added, got a proof img tho?
     
  18. Lustral

    Wise Guy

    Joined: Oct 6, 2004

    Posts: 1,230

    Location: Southampton, UK

    Just got my Sapphire Vapor-X 290X and its got this sticker saying

    New Aero 10 VRM Digital Power Control ... the previous 290 Vapor X didnt have this stick on ...

    Is there any difference ?
     
  19. thebennyboy

    Mobster

    Joined: Dec 23, 2013

    Posts: 3,428

    Sorry, added.

    (Sorry about the poor focus) :p
     
  20. Gripen90

    Wise Guy

    Joined: Nov 20, 2009

    Posts: 2,003

    Location: Haarby, DENMARK

    I guess better late than never to join ? :D It's going into my HTPC/Living room gamer I'm building next weekend!
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]