1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

AMD THREADRIPPER 3990X NOW IN STOCK & AVAILABLE!!

Discussion in 'Latest News, Deals & Special Offers' started by Gibbo, Feb 7, 2020.

  1. Steampunk

    Sgarrista

    Joined: Jun 1, 2013

    Posts: 7,754

    To get less cores and about two thirds of the 3990X performance from Intel, you'd need to spend about 20 grand on two of their top end data centre CPUs.

    Compared to the available alternatives for similar performance, the 3990X is a bargain. It is not for gamers, it's for people who need very high performance right at their desktop, usually some kind of rendering (such as real time) or content creation.
     
  2. Troezar

    Mobster

    Joined: Aug 6, 2009

    Posts: 4,027

    Agreed, context is everything.
     
  3. Roguey000

    Gangster

    Joined: Jan 10, 2016

    Posts: 172

  4. JediFragger

    Capodecina

    Joined: Oct 18, 2002

    Posts: 22,407

    Location: y0 Momma's a$$

    ^^^^^^

    [​IMG]

    :D
     
  5. pingu666

    Wise Guy

    Joined: Mar 6, 2008

    Posts: 1,929

    from what ive seen, IF you have a task(s) that can leverage that kind of power/threads, its actually legit value
     
  6. Jumper118

    Mobster

    Joined: Oct 17, 2012

    Posts: 4,893

    Location: Leeds

    way too cheap, this is for poor people :p intel is the best way to go. w3175x
     
  7. littlepuppy

    Mobster

    Joined: Aug 6, 2008

    Posts: 4,094

    Location: Birmingham

    Gibbo - you / they should know though it only supports 256GB mem.... (max)

    Thats because they dont want to cannibalise EPYC where you can scale higher. If you need a lot of memory and cores (EG VMware) you need Epyc, this is not a high memory solution.
     
  8. kalvindeane

    Wise Guy

    Joined: Jan 13, 2010

    Posts: 2,033

    Location: A box in the Astral Plane

    Will be interesting to see if they lift the memory restriction due to recent complaints.
     
  9. Lukasz Malmon

    Associate

    Joined: Apr 13, 2018

    Posts: 28

    Would wait for one from second hand just for 2k. 3k way too much
     
  10. Arne Saknussemm

    Associate

    Joined: Oct 19, 2019

    Posts: 63

    Location: UK

    Hold my beer.....

    [​IMG]
     
  11. 8 Pack

    OcUK Staff

    Joined: Feb 20, 2012

    Posts: 9,996

    Location: John Smiths Stadium

    The motherboards and the cpu are not what's constraining the memory capacity.... Larger capacity modules are the problem... of the correct type. 2tb is possible no issue when the correct dimms are available.
     
  12. miceormen

    Gangster

    Joined: Feb 26, 2008

    Posts: 406

    Cool. Now, go invent software that seamlessly uses distributed computing to achieve a multitude of processing requirements, customer dependent. Oh, and pay the customer's increased leccy bills whilst you're at it.
     
  13. orbitalwalsh

    Capodecina

    Joined: Dec 1, 2015

    Posts: 17,390

    You missed the whole point of the point.. oh back, relax and read... Correctly.... .

    Someone was on about the high cost of the CPU, stating it's not worth the high price. My post was stating that if you split the cost into multiple builds, you'd be down in core count and increased software expenses ....

    Please invent good reading abilities and common sense
     
  14. Freddie1980

    Soldato

    Joined: Sep 25, 2009

    Posts: 7,124

    Location: Billericay, UK

    For a number of companies and people the CPU (3990x) is a godsend. Think of all that time employees waste waiting for jobs to finish rendering now that workstation is freed up to do other jobs.
     
  15. bulldog147

    Soldato

    Joined: Mar 22, 2009

    Posts: 5,223

    Only Gibbo can afford this! :p