Asrock Z490 Taichi and 10850k build

Associate
Joined
12 Feb 2009
Posts
1,211
Location
N.Ireland
Hi, I'm about to have a go at a new build for myself using the Z490 Taichi and 10850k.

I'm no expert but I have built a few before for myself and family with help from this forum :)

Is there anything in the BIOS I need to set or change for the build, I don't want the CPU to run hot if I can manage it.
I've a Corsair 240mm H100i RGB PRO XT BTW.

Thanks in advance.
 
Soldato
Joined
1 Dec 2015
Posts
18,509
Hi, I'm about to have a go at a new build for myself using the Z490 Taichi and 10850k.

I'm no expert but I have built a few before for myself and family with help from this forum :)

Is there anything in the BIOS I need to set or change for the build, I don't want the CPU to run hot if I can manage it.
I've a Corsair 240mm H100i RGB PRO XT BTW.

Thanks in advance.

360 AIO personally with 10 cores
 
Soldato
Joined
1 Dec 2015
Posts
18,509
runs hot, specially all 10 cores at 5ghz plus , as you'd want to push 10850k to 10900k/OC levels to match performance at a cheaper cost
 
Associate
OP
Joined
12 Feb 2009
Posts
1,211
Location
N.Ireland
runs hot, specially all 10 cores at 5ghz plus , as you'd want to push 10850k to 10900k/OC levels to match performance at a cheaper cost

Might sound stupid but I don't want to OC :) I'm using it for video editing and encoding. :)

Just want something faster than my current 2700K, that is going great BTW

Thanks
 
Soldato
Joined
6 Jun 2008
Posts
11,355
Location
Finland
Might sound stupid but I don't want to OC :) I'm using it for video editing and encoding. :)
Then forget Intel.
Upper Intel models have been landfill fire in full all core load for years to try to keep up with Ryzens.
Single core/lightly threaded load power draw/heat output is perfectly fine.
But once all cores are fully loaded you can double that marketing TDP.

As expected, the 10850K pulls less power than the 10900K under full load, but we're looking at a roughly ~3% decrease in power consumption during the threaded AVX-heavy y-cruncher and HandBrake benchmarks.
If you're after better power efficiency, and thus a cooler and quieter machine that still has plenty of performance, turn to AMD's Ryzen line of chips. As you can see in our final two scatter charts, which measure the cumulative amount of energy required to perform an x264 and x265 HandBrake workload, respectively, AMD still holds the unequivocal lead.

https://www.tomshardware.com/reviews/intel-core-i9-10850k-cpu-review

Power efficiency is literally half of AMD.
https://cdn.mos.cms.futurecdn.net/mnP4DxJGsAY2KZdHck5cpW.png
And that's against 2019's old Zen2 architecture instead of newer Zen3.
 
Associate
OP
Joined
12 Feb 2009
Posts
1,211
Location
N.Ireland
Thanks for all that guy but I've already bought the CPU, I've using quick sync for years and have gotten used to it.
Plus I use a video edit program called Edius and it seems to work best with Intel.

I'd still like to hear the bios setting you might used. You guys know your stuff, unlike me.

Thanks in advance.
 
Soldato
Joined
1 Dec 2015
Posts
18,509
You can enbled settings to allow all cores to run at 5ghz , which you should but it will generate more heat then manually overclocking do again, 360 AIO .

at a point, 10850k was like £370 which made it cheaper then8 core 5800x making it a good deal! even now so.. just the heat it produces
 
Associate
OP
Joined
12 Feb 2009
Posts
1,211
Location
N.Ireland
You can enbled settings to allow all cores to run at 5ghz , which you should but it will generate more heat then manually overclocking do again, 360 AIO .

at a point, 10850k was like £370 which made it cheaper then8 core 5800x making it a good deal! even now so.. just the heat it produces

So, are you saying it would be best if i bought the 360 AIO.

▷ Corsair Hydro Series iCUE H150i PRO XT RGB Pe… | OcUK (overclockers.co.uk)

I have the Fractal Design Define XL R2 case BTW, would a 360 AIO fit?

Thank you.
 
Last edited:
Associate
Joined
20 Jun 2013
Posts
1,830
Look up a few videos on 10900k overclocking, you can manually set your voltage on the cpu limiting the heat the chip produces.
Get a 280mm fan, your case won't take a 360mm.
Aim to stay around the 1.3V for your cpu Vcore, and a 280mm aio will be able to cool your cpu to a reasonable degree, but I agree with Orbitalwalsh, and if you can get a 360mm cooling solution, that way you can get more out of a very nice 10 core chip.
 
Last edited:
Soldato
Joined
6 Jan 2012
Posts
3,815
So, are you saying it would be best if i bought the 360 AIO.

▷ Corsair Hydro Series iCUE H150i PRO XT RGB Pe… | OcUK (overclockers.co.uk)

I have the Fractal Design Define XL R2 case BTW, would a 360 AIO fit?

Thank you.
I have got a 240mm H100X/10850/Z490 setup and note you are not going to OC? That size aio is fine then. You can fix cpu at 4.8ghz and run at much lower voltage than setting to 'Auto'. Mine at 1.150v at 4.8 and is super cool. Running at 5.2 likely a marginal boost in games, but I always overclock!
 
Associate
OP
Joined
12 Feb 2009
Posts
1,211
Location
N.Ireland
Look up a few videos on 10900k overclocking, you can manually set your voltage on the cpu limiting the heat the chip produces.
Get a 280mm fan, your case won't take a 360mm.
Aim to stay around the 1.3V for your cpu Vcore, and a 280mm aio will be able to cool your cpu to a reasonable degree, but I agree with Orbitalwalsh, and if you can get a 360mm cooling solution, that way you can get more out of a very nice 10 core chip.

OK, Hakanese, i'll look for those videos.
Thanks.

Ah, 280 then but not sure with that case. In theory should work
save cash, eisbaer 280

Thanks orbitalwalsh, are you think of this ?

https://www.overclockers.co.uk/alph...u-aio-water-cooling-unit-black-hs-008-ac.html

Or what other 360mm cooling are you thinking of?

I already have a Corsair 240mm H100i RGB PRO XT.

Thank you.
 
Associate
OP
Joined
12 Feb 2009
Posts
1,211
Location
N.Ireland
I have got a 240mm H100X/10850/Z490 setup and note you are not going to OC? That size aio is fine then. You can fix cpu at 4.8ghz and run at much lower voltage than setting to 'Auto'. Mine at 1.150v at 4.8 and is super cool. Running at 5.2 likely a marginal boost in games, but I always overclock!

Thanks turbot1984, that sounds promising then :)
 
Soldato
Joined
1 Dec 2015
Posts
18,509
try your current AIO, see how you get along if its to hard to swap for free etc

with your case, still using dvd drives or more then 3 HDD?
 
Soldato
Joined
6 Jan 2012
Posts
3,815
Thanks turbot1984, that sounds promising then :)
If ever you do get tempted, (and you have a cracking mobo for it!) hitting the magic 5ghz all core on a 10850k needs around 1.260-1.280v... still within the limits of the H100i in everyday use. Some people run torture tests like Prime95 for days for 'ultimate stability' so temps skyrocket so mega cooling needed. If I can play cpu intensive games like CP2077 and FS2020 rock solid for hours, thats enough stability for me. Good luck ;)
 
Associate
OP
Joined
12 Feb 2009
Posts
1,211
Location
N.Ireland
try your current AIO, see how you get along if its to hard to swap for free etc

with your case, still using dvd drives or more then 3 HDD?

OK thanks, fair enough.

Aye, I'd still have 3/4 internal HDD and still need the DVD drive :)

Thanks.
 
Associate
OP
Joined
12 Feb 2009
Posts
1,211
Location
N.Ireland
If ever you do get tempted, (and you have a cracking mobo for it!) hitting the magic 5ghz all core on a 10850k needs around 1.260-1.280v... still within the limits of the H100i in everyday use. Some people run torture tests like Prime95 for days for 'ultimate stability' so temps skyrocket so mega cooling needed. If I can play cpu intensive games like CP2077 and FS2020 rock solid for hours, thats enough stability for me. Good luck ;)

Thanks again turbot1984 for the advice, naw, i don't use this PC for games either, just video edit and encoding and fire out dvds and MP4 files for USB.
I can do all this with my old 2700K but wanted to build myself a new PC after all these yrs.
 
Top Bottom