1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Best solution to my FPS bottleneck...

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by AshB1989, Dec 2, 2019.

  1. Quartz

    Sgarrista

    Joined: Apr 1, 2014

    Posts: 9,419

    Location: Aberdeen

    He's not getting CPU bottlenecks.
     
  2. Joxeon

    Gangster

    Joined: Oct 15, 2019

    Posts: 290

    Location: Uk

    Regardless having a cpu with higher ipc and core speed will push up fps even when the system isn't CPU bound.
     
  3. AshB1989

    Gangster

    Joined: Aug 11, 2015

    Posts: 132

    Last edited: Dec 3, 2019
  4. Joxeon

    Gangster

    Joined: Oct 15, 2019

    Posts: 290

    Location: Uk

  5. AshB1989

    Gangster

    Joined: Aug 11, 2015

    Posts: 132

    With it disabled the score improves a little, but the RAM has reverted back to the 1066hz (or there abouts)...

    [​IMG]
    https://gyazo.com/ccb2af7e3e8005006f6b6092f5b5c3c7


    FPS hasn't changed either, but my display seems much laggier than before. Previously I had a smooth image, now it's stuttering. :(
     
  6. Joxeon

    Gangster

    Joined: Oct 15, 2019

    Posts: 290

    Location: Uk

    Could try a hard reset of the bios either with the jumper if the board has it or by removing the cmos battery.

    Have you updated the chipset driver if not try this first.
     
  7. AshB1989

    Gangster

    Joined: Aug 11, 2015

    Posts: 132

  8. Finners

    Wise Guy

    Joined: Mar 27, 2009

    Posts: 2,441

    If I'm reading that right in your last run your at 1066 and at the start of those thread your score was 769. I would say that's a good improvement.

    If your game FPS hasn't improved though I don't know where the bottleneck is.

    All you can do now is install MSI afterburner and log everything over a duration. That way you can see FPS and the clock speed of your GPU and CPU cores over a length of time.
     
  9. Danny75

    Sgarrista

    Joined: Aug 26, 2013

    Posts: 7,654

    Run a graphics test, Ash. Unigine Valley or Heaven (extreme preset). You should see GPU usage hit 100% in that. Grab the score.

    As for RAM try 2666MHz and see if you get better results than with 2133MHz. Maybe the RAM, or the motherboard, or the CPU's IMC, doesn't like 3000MHz.
     
  10. AshB1989

    Gangster

    Joined: Aug 11, 2015

    Posts: 132

    This was the first score after updating the BIOS drivers, bud.

    How do I change it to 2666mhz? Manually in the BIOS?
     
  11. Danny75

    Sgarrista

    Joined: Aug 26, 2013

    Posts: 7,654

    Yes.
     
  12. AshB1989

    Gangster

    Joined: Aug 11, 2015

    Posts: 132

    Here is the results from the graphics benchmark.

    https://gyazo.com/1f89f76f40cac7761bc27c8a14da3045

    So each stick of ram should be 2666 mhz?

    EDIT: I tried to change it in BIOS, but I don't get a chance to input figures. Either disabled or 3000mhz.
     
    Last edited: Dec 4, 2019
  13. AshB1989

    Gangster

    Joined: Aug 11, 2015

    Posts: 132

    Any further advice, Danny? Or anybody else for that matter.
     
  14. Danny75

    Sgarrista

    Joined: Aug 26, 2013

    Posts: 7,654

    Your Heaven run was on custom settings so I wasn't able to compare that graphics score with others using the Extreme Preset.

    And you need to figure out a way to set a different speed for the RAM. Can't help you there.

    CPU seemed fine.
     
  15. Joxeon

    Gangster

    Joined: Oct 15, 2019

    Posts: 290

    Location: Uk

    Have you tried hitting f2 in the bios to show advance menu rather that the easy mode?
     
  16. AshB1989

    Gangster

    Joined: Aug 11, 2015

    Posts: 132

    Last edited: Dec 15, 2019
  17. LuckyBenski

    Mobster

    Joined: Dec 28, 2017

    Posts: 3,679

    Location: London

    Yep, that's 2666MHz. It reports as 1333 but being double data rate (DDR), that's 2666MHz effective.
     
  18. AshB1989

    Gangster

    Joined: Aug 11, 2015

    Posts: 132

    Still no luck then I guess :(
     
  19. Joxeon

    Gangster

    Joined: Oct 15, 2019

    Posts: 290

    Location: Uk

     
  20. Ian Woolfenden

    Associate

    Joined: Dec 10, 2019

    Posts: 30

    May be a silly question, but is this a specific game? I have the ultimate rig and still can’t get above 60 frames in red dead 2 at 4K because of issues with their game...