1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

BT Infinity & FTTx Discussion

Discussion in 'Networks & Internet Connectivity' started by michellez, 8 Feb 2011.

  1. MagicUK

    Hitman

    Joined: 2 Sep 2003

    Posts: 953

    Location: Surrey

    I know. Was with plusnet last time. Where we thinking value wise. Can’t afford zen ha
     
  2. Caged

    Capodecina

    Joined: 18 Oct 2002

    Posts: 24,375

    Are you not just getting a very clear example of getting what you pay for? If you aren't happy with Vodafone then is £5 a month a deal breaker to go back to something better?
     
  3. MagicUK

    Hitman

    Joined: 2 Sep 2003

    Posts: 953

    Location: Surrey

    I’m not that tight but if I can talk to talk talk rententions deal why not try get a better offer. I was asking as an exiting customer offer and seeing what people were paying. Also anyone know who onestream use for the core network. I was wondering if they use talk talk wholesale but couldn’t find anything.
     
  4. b0rn2sk8

    Sgarrista

    Joined: 9 Mar 2003

    Posts: 8,685

    The last time I spoke to talk talk retentions they matched the Quidco cash back from moving to plusnet in account credit and added a bit more to match the price. I had already started the switching process though and I was responding to a letter they had sent me.
     
  5. Wizzkidy

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 25 Jun 2003

    Posts: 1,670

    Zen emailed me all delayed and no date on an engineer can come into the house

     
  6. Muffin`

    Caporegime

    Joined: 21 Apr 2004

    Posts: 33,213

    Location: Bristol

    I've had the same email today which is a shame as Openreach ran the cable this morning and it's coiled up outside. I only moved into my house in December and I've been on 4G (which is ****) so it looks like I'll be stuck with it for the foreseeable!
     
  7. Caged

    Capodecina

    Joined: 18 Oct 2002

    Posts: 24,375

    If you have no access to a copper broadband product then you should still be able to have your FTTP appointment go ahead, worth checking with your provider.
     
  8. Muffin`

    Caporegime

    Joined: 21 Apr 2004

    Posts: 33,213

    Location: Bristol

    Thank you for that Caged, I'll speak to Zen.
     
  9. MagicUK

    Hitman

    Joined: 2 Sep 2003

    Posts: 953

    Location: Surrey

    been using it a few days and seems quite a contended service compared to previous provider. Would ya say this is quite bad?


    My Broadband Ping
     
  10. ChrisD.

    Caporegime

    Joined: 20 Sep 2006

    Posts: 26,703

    Yup that looks pretty rubbish to me.
     
  11. Scope

    Hitman

    Joined: 1 Dec 2002

    Posts: 990

    Location: Swindon

    Im considering dropping Virgin for EE (300 or 900).. But have a couple of questions..

    1) Am I able to put their router into modem only mode so that it can plug into my existing setup?
    2) Will I be able to ask for the ONT to go into the garage? (intragral)
    3) With Virgin they compensate with the speeds to that I get 380 on 350 package..
    What are the EE speeds like? (again, 300 and 900).
     
  12. dubs

    Hitman

    Joined: 11 Oct 2004

    Posts: 761

    Location: Buckley, North Wales.

    I'm still waiting for orders to go live, broadband checker says it's available but no one is taking orders yet. The pole was finished end of November ☹️
     
  13. ChrisD.

    Caporegime

    Joined: 20 Sep 2006

    Posts: 26,703

    1) Plug your router into the ONT as long as it supports FTTP.
    2) I would imagine so, would depend on the engineer I guess.
    3) I believe the compensation is legislation.
    4) FTTP speeds will be miles better than Virgin.
     
  14. Caged

    Capodecina

    Joined: 18 Oct 2002

    Posts: 24,375

    1. No, but you can remove the modem and go straight into the ONT with your third-party router
    2. Maybe, it depends on how your phone line gets into your house at the moment
    3. Openreach FTTP services are provisioned at 330, 550, 1000Mbps. There are then PPPoE overheads if your ISP uses PPPoE and usual congestion within the provider network or on the optical network itself, though I don't think that's an issue presently
     
  15. Wizzkidy

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 25 Jun 2003

    Posts: 1,670

    So Openreach turned up to do the outside work for my FTTP but wouldn't come into the house to do the indoor bit and said don't expect this until late April!

    I gave him options
    1. Run the fibre cable to the hole where my sky comes in and let me put the internal box on the wall myself and plug it in - He said no as it has to be run from inside to out (which he couldn't give me an answer as to why)
    2. I'll put the whole family upstairs and open all the windows so you can come in and do the work and leave before we come downstairs - He said no

    I think this situation is absolutely pants! now expecting me to wait 3 to 4 months to get the install complete and I gave him options to finish the work in a safe way!
     
  16. Caged

    Capodecina

    Joined: 18 Oct 2002

    Posts: 24,375

    It's absolutely understandable for a worker to want to protect their health during a pandemic, you got all the difficult and time consuming part of the installation done, it's not going to start billing yet, and you haven't been left with a worse service than you had a month ago. I think you're being unreasonable.
     
  17. the-evaluator

    Mobster

    Joined: 24 Sep 2015

    Posts: 2,793

    Because the cable has a connector pre-installed on one end, it's that connector that plugs in to the ONT. Shoving the connector through the wall would likely knacker it.

    The job also includes connecting the ONT and router together and verifying that the connection works Part of that includes scanning the bar code on the ONT with his mobile phone. He can't do that from outside.

    Options that he's not allowed to take.

    I get the annoyance, but you're being unreasonable.
     
  18. Wizzkidy

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 25 Jun 2003

    Posts: 1,670

    Hey look I understand people need to work in a safe way during these times but having no one in the room while he is doing the job with fresh air circulated through the living room is more then reasonable.

    I can understand doing the indoor bit myself the connector could get broken and the testing couldn't be done so that I understand.

    I wouldn't mind as much but three doors down had there connection put in on Tuesday without any issue and the guy didn't even wear a mask
     
  19. Caged

    Capodecina

    Joined: 18 Oct 2002

    Posts: 24,375

    Some Openreach staff or third-party contractors might be willing to ignore the guidance given to them, but that's on them. It works both ways - you wouldn't want someone going door-to-door without a mask and then coming into your house.
     
  20. robj20

    Capodecina

    Joined: 9 Apr 2007

    Posts: 10,698

    Load of rubbish. Guy that did mine scanned the ONT at the door and handed it to me along with the cable for me to run to the outside.
    He didn't need to come in the house.

    It's absolutely doable without them entering your house of you're willing to run the cable and mount the ONT.