Button returning to F1?

Caporegime
Running in the INdy 500 with a Honda engine... what could go wrong. As for Button, who would be desperate to come back for Monaco?

Honestly it's a terrible idea by the team, as in absurdly awful. Almost any other track you might want a reserve driver to come in but Monaco.... whoever they get, Button included, will not have driven in this car before. Single worst track of the year to get someone not familiar with these cars to sub in for. Also much wider cars will make Monaco even harder... and even worse for overtaking(so we'll go down from 2 overtakes to 1). As a driver I see no upside, Button or anyone else, you only really stand to make a fool of yourself hitting the wall imo.

Considering what an event Monaco is for sponsors and that Mclaren are desperate to get a decent sponsor on board and the difficulty of driving here in a completely new car all somewhat points to HUGE ultimatums by Alonso to be allowed out for this race. There is literally no upside to this for Mclaren which makes me think Alonso must have said along the lines of let me race the indy 500 or I quit today.

Button would be stupid to come back for this race, wide cars he's never driven at a narrow track that isn't even close to a fun race anyway? If it was Bahrain/USA or any much more forgiving track to errors then why not, but coming back for Monaco has disaster written all over it.

smr

smr

Soldato
How's it a terrible idea for the team when the cars probably going to finish 15th anyway. It's a great idea by the team allowing Alonso the chance to achieve the triple crown. Good on them.

Caporegime
How's it a terrible idea for the team when the cars probably going to finish 15th anyway. It's a great idea by the team allowing Alonso the chance to achieve the triple crown. Good on them.