Buying a Sat Nav tomorrow...

Bes

Bes

Soldato
Hi

Looking to buy a sat nav system tomorrow. Is the Tom Tom One the one to get (It is according to what I have read!) and is £250 a good price?

Soldato
So many people have these now, is it because you like them as a 'toy' or you actually use them? If so how did you manage before they were about!?

Bes

Bes

Soldato
OP
Well seeing as I am an IT consultant and spend a lot of time travelling around the UK, I would say it is something I could actually do with, Got lost twice in Watford last week and am always having to pull over and refer to my trusty road atlas, so yeah I think it would be a great help :)

Man of Honour
lucasade1 said:
If so how did you manage before they were about!?

Got lost a lot;) Far easier banging in a postcode and being pointed to exactly where i want to go, than having to pull over and read a map, or keep ringing people getting directions. I certainly dont use mine as a toy. I find it essential travelling into london, as quite often roads are shut, and without it redirecting me i'd be driving round aimlessly for hours.

TomTom One is very easy to use, i used to have a pda with TT5 on, the all in one unit is much easier, and the gps receiver built into it is very good. Incidentally you can pick up the genuine TT One case for £20 now, instead of the crazy amount of £50 that some shops were charging.

Soldato
I bought the TomTom Go 500 the other day but forgot to check whether my P900 would work with the bluetooth phone features.....it doesn't! Oops!

I replaced wayfinder which ran on my mobile using a bluetooth gps receiver. This solution was "OK" but never go to the tom tom level of ease of use!

TomTom one looks nice, only consideration is the 2hr battery but if you use the car charger it's a non issue issue!

Bes

Bes

Soldato
OP