1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Card upgrade under £300

Discussion in 'Graphics Cards' started by michty_me, Feb 8, 2019.

  1. Gibbo

    Commissario

    Joined: Oct 17, 2002

    Posts: 30,761

    Location: OcUK HQ



    Very nice I miss all my old cars in some way or other, but the SVR is like an EVO on steroids built in a super luxurious supercar, it is totally stock but has ran 1/4 mile in 11.1@126mph and hit 0-60 in 2.9s and having an adjustable power split in dynamic its 90% rear so I can do skids and in wet mode its 50/50 so handles more like an EVO and just planted whilst having heated seats, heated screen, 1000W sound system, remote start and a whole host of other toys and leather quilted interior.

    I am however getting itchy feet, so I've thrown it up for sale on Pistonheads as got my eyes on something Italian maybe next, Mclaren tempted me but crazy depreciation and unreliability has scared me off.

    https://www.pistonheads.com/classif...-carbon-extras-andamp-jaguar-warranty/9397439
     
  2. nashathedog

    Sgarrista

    Joined: Sep 12, 2013

    Posts: 8,508

    Location: Knowhere

    I'm so jealous, :(

    I've got a mountain bike,
    But it's got a puncture. :rolleyes:
     
  3. michty_me

    Wise Guy

    Joined: Apr 19, 2012

    Posts: 1,757

    That sounds like some machine you have there! I don't think I've ever seen one in the flesh! The Jag looks spot on too! A good selection of cars you have had then!!

    I've got one too with a puncture and I think it gets used less than the car unfortunately.
     
  4. ExoMale

    Mobster

    Joined: Jan 9, 2016

    Posts: 3,424

    Location: Gloucestershire

    either gibbo has always been good with his money or OC pays him too much :p.


    back to OP - if you want a top end gpu and can power it then get the vega 56, £300 is a cracking price otherwise a 1060 6gb will do you just fine, but try find a good deal on which you want as they pretty expensive still, my aero itx seems to be a good gpu, it passed the VR test on steam perfectly and will be much better than the 570 it replaced in games, i ended up paying £240 for it, but then i did need to buy a new psu as well as i had the same budget as you.
     
  5. michty_me

    Wise Guy

    Joined: Apr 19, 2012

    Posts: 1,757

    I'm pretty much set on the Vega 56. Still trying to figure out the shipping though. I know it is only £10 but if it states free, I be as well save that for petrol haha.
     
  6. Panos

    Capodecina

    Joined: Nov 22, 2009

    Posts: 10,261

    Location: Under the hot sun.

    You need to log with your forum account. Somewhere in the options on your shop account had the option to link your forum account
     
  7. michty_me

    Wise Guy

    Joined: Apr 19, 2012

    Posts: 1,757

    I've done all that. Spoke to customer services and they said it probably is because of my address and being out with the qualifying area.
     
  8. ExoMale

    Mobster

    Joined: Jan 9, 2016

    Posts: 3,424

    Location: Gloucestershire

    if you can afford £300 for a gpu, then £10-20 for shipping should be nothing lol and would likely cost you more in fuel from wherever you collect from.
     
  9. michty_me

    Wise Guy

    Joined: Apr 19, 2012

    Posts: 1,757

    Yeah I know. I'm just being tight haha.
     
  10. michty_me

    Wise Guy

    Joined: Apr 19, 2012

    Posts: 1,757

    Purchased along with a new keyboard too. Hopefully my PSU will cope now!!
     
  11. Gibbo

    Commissario

    Joined: Oct 17, 2002

    Posts: 30,761

    Location: OcUK HQ


    I’m good at my job so I’m well looked after. :)
    I’m also prettt good with money too well not too bad anyway. ;)
     
  12. michty_me

    Wise Guy

    Joined: Apr 19, 2012

    Posts: 1,757

    Sorted. Quick delivery too.

    [​IMG]
     
  13. Chrisc

    Hitman

    Joined: Jun 29, 2016

    Posts: 814

    Location: Up Norf

    Nice choice sir!

    Does anybody know What the sales are like on the 590?
     
  14. michty_me

    Wise Guy

    Joined: Apr 19, 2012

    Posts: 1,757

    I had been using the computer with a wireless keyboard. It was doing my head in missing key strokes so a half decent one needed bought.
    That mouse mat stinks though haha.
     
  15. michty_me

    Wise Guy

    Joined: Apr 19, 2012

    Posts: 1,757

    Having a bit of an issue here.
    Been trying to get it installed today but I'm getting no fans spinning on start up and not finding any AMD hardware in the installation process.
    Powering via one 6 pin connector and 1 8 pin connector.
    I'm not too sure where to go from here as I've just installed my old card back in and it is working fine.
    Edit to add: PSU is a OCZ bronze edition 550W.
     
    Last edited: Feb 16, 2019
  16. JJimmyJ

    Gangster

    Joined: Jan 21, 2010

    Posts: 434

    The card takes 2 8 pin connections, so 6 pin and 8 pin won't work.
    Hmmm, that psu may not be the best either. I plumped for a new one when I got the card the other day. Does it have 2 separate wires for the connections? Ideally need 2 separate wires. Both 8npin though!
     
  17. michty_me

    Wise Guy

    Joined: Apr 19, 2012

    Posts: 1,757

    Thats what I'm thinking. Could be new PSU time.
    In the manual it states in connector options: 1x4pin, 1x6pin, 1x8pin etc etc
    1x8pin+1x6 pin.

    Both of these are on the same line though so I assume I need two separate rails of 8 pin would be best?
     
  18. JJimmyJ

    Gangster

    Joined: Jan 21, 2010

    Posts: 434

    Yeah 2 separate is recommended in order to avoid any issues. I believe they can work on the same rail with a good quality psu.
    Picked up an antec earthwatts 650w gold. Its semi modular. Bit pointless for me as I've used every connection!!
     
  19. michty_me

    Wise Guy

    Joined: Apr 19, 2012

    Posts: 1,757

    Ok thanks. I might go bigger so it lasts longer. Had to upgrade my PSU last time I bought a GPU. Should have just bought a decent one then.
     
  20. ANDREW GREEN

    Gangster

    Joined: Sep 17, 2018

    Posts: 434

    Mountain bike with a puncture, pfffff I just hobble everywhere