Coax cable causes confusion

Associate
;)This is hard to explain as I’m a layman in an IT world... but here goes.

I have a coax cable running between a garden out-house and main house. It’s currently not terminated either end. I want to run internet from main house to garden house 30m away using this cable.

but, how can I get signal from the Vodafone router in main house, (LAN Ethernet/outputs) into the BNC coax?

and once that’s achieved I have a similar problem at other end, but in reverse. How can I get internet from coax into my access point (Ethernet/rj45 type hole)

any suggestions much appreciated! I’ve seen little adapters online for a couple of quid - would these help?

thanks guys.

Man of Honour
I understand that you believe you want to do this, but you really don't. Running another cable or using a wireless link has got to be less hassle than the absolute faff of running ethernet over coax like it's 1990.

I highly suspect the converters you're seeing are actually for running analogue signals (such as those in old cctv systems), over twisted pair, not for the opposite.

Jez

Jez

Caporegime
Erm guys, these do exist and are very common indeed. They are very popular for retrofitting buildings wired in coax for analogue cctv to facilitate new IP cameras.

Depending on budget some even run at 1gbps....

Associate
OP
FFS. So now I really have to ask: why for the love of God did someone instal a coax cable? This was only 4 years ago. Is there any conceivable reason? Its even been buried under the lawn.

Can I physically achieve a functioning internet using this cable?

Caporegime
FFS. So now I really have to ask: why for the love of God did someone instal a coax cable? This was only 4 years ago. Is there any conceivable reason? Its even been buried under the lawn.

For CCTV.

Jez

Jez

Caporegime
Pulling a new cable will cost way less than converters.
Doubt it if it’s buried under his lawn!