1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Competitions

Discussion in 'Team OcUK Distributed Computing Projects' started by andy_taximan, Oct 9, 2015.

  1. currob

    Hitman

    Joined: Nov 15, 2011

    Posts: 901

    Location: Stafford

    Fantastic !
     
  2. chris182008

    Hitman

    Joined: Oct 8, 2011

    Posts: 646

    Location: Lincolnshire

    Okay I caved and ordered a dual 5650 server. It should be here Wednesday so will have it set up in time for the competition. The question is should I just put Windows 10 on it or try out Windows server?
     
  3. hanluc

    Mobster

    Joined: Oct 22, 2010

    Posts: 2,955

    Location: Ratae Corieltauvorum

    I have never used either of those OS but what I can tell you with Win10 is you'll need either professional, enterprise or ultimate in order to recognise both processors, I believe Colinmcr fell foul of this buying Win10 home which only recognised 1 proc.
     
  4. andy_taximan

    Wise Guy

    Joined: Apr 20, 2014

    Posts: 1,806

    Location: Herts/uk

    Nice, another 24 threads crunching then :)
     
  5. PDW

    Wise Guy

    Joined: Feb 21, 2014

    Posts: 1,729

    Couldn't you get another one and then run each OS to see which one is faster over the challenge ?
    :D
     
  6. ozaudio

    Mobster

    Joined: Jan 23, 2010

    Posts: 3,776

    Location: St helens

    texas connection seems to of added a few cores there !
     
  7. hanluc

    Mobster

    Joined: Oct 22, 2010

    Posts: 2,955

    Location: Ratae Corieltauvorum

    I don't know why he has HT turned off on all his machines, nonetheless a welcomed addition.
     
    Last edited: Oct 27, 2015
  8. chris182008

    Hitman

    Joined: Oct 8, 2011

    Posts: 646

    Location: Lincolnshire

    Would love to get a 2nd but this will have to do me for now :)

    I'll go for Windows 10 pro for now as I know my way round it maybe try some linux distros after the competition.
     
  9. ozaudio

    Mobster

    Joined: Jan 23, 2010

    Posts: 3,776

    Location: St helens

    and now hes added a load more lol

    he did ask last time in the POGS thread if hyper threading makes any difference but theres no way to contact him to let him know unless he reads this, hopefully he'll see it
     
    Last edited: Oct 28, 2015
  10. Senture

    Wise Guy

    Joined: May 1, 2007

    Posts: 2,339

    Location: London

    From what I've seen on DENIS from accidentally having HT off for a few days, it significantly helps having it on.

    Unit processing times were about 16 minutes with HT off and rose to 21 minutes with HT on, but ofcourse the number of units running doubled.
     
  11. andy_taximan

    Wise Guy

    Joined: Apr 20, 2014

    Posts: 1,806

    Location: Herts/uk

    Be carefull with the times, they are sending so many different wu`s with different times, from 3 mins to 21 mins might be easy to get confused lol , im doing a batch of 8 min wu`s atm but this will change
     
  12. Senture

    Wise Guy

    Joined: May 1, 2007

    Posts: 2,339

    Location: London

    You can tell from looking at the tasks name. The WU's start 3XP_XXXXXXXXX_600_XXXXX_X. The 600 part is the important one for length. 600 is the shortest which usually take about 3 minutes, then you have 1000, 1200, 1800, 2400 and 3600 with the latter taking about 29 minutes depending on your CPU speed. I looked at WU processing times for 2400's which is what I posted :)
     
  13. andy_taximan

    Wise Guy

    Joined: Apr 20, 2014

    Posts: 1,806

    Location: Herts/uk

    Well that was fun :) tho i wouldnt want to do them too often :D but anybody want to do another 1 sometime?
    Shall we have a vote how often, which project, make our own or join in on 1 etc?
     
  14. currob

    Hitman

    Joined: Nov 15, 2011

    Posts: 901

    Location: Stafford

    Great idea, I would be up for it whenever :cool:
     
  15. ozaudio

    Mobster

    Joined: Jan 23, 2010

    Posts: 3,776

    Location: St helens

    if its a cpu one and theres a few weeks notice, a few people will be scrabbling around to find cheap xeon / opteron cpus with lots of cores, and to be fair you can probably build something from ebay for the same price as building an i7 pc lol
    infact the amd g34 cpus are cheap, its finding a board that's cheap aswell
     
    Last edited: Nov 8, 2015
  16. andy_taximan

    Wise Guy

    Joined: Apr 20, 2014

    Posts: 1,806

    Location: Herts/uk

    yer cpu are prob best, cheaper to run if you turn off folding at the same time as well :)
    I just wish intel would let us use more then 1 5960x per pc but it aint gona happen , my 1 was up there with the big boys with just its lil 16 threads hehe
     
  17. ozaudio

    Mobster

    Joined: Jan 23, 2010

    Posts: 3,776

    Location: St helens

    best time is to wait till BaBa feels like doing some boinc related stuff again as he will be the back bone with his hundeds on cores lol
     
  18. colinmcr

    Wise Guy

    Joined: Mar 17, 2009

    Posts: 2,467

    Location: Scotland

    Your cpu did very well, I'd be tempted to change my 5930k for a high core count Xeon in my sabertooth board.
     
  19. chris182008

    Hitman

    Joined: Oct 8, 2011

    Posts: 646

    Location: Lincolnshire

    I know it's pretty old tech but I got my dual 5650 server for £190 really can't complain at that price plus I've got a massively op media server now.
     
  20. currob

    Hitman

    Joined: Nov 15, 2011

    Posts: 901

    Location: Stafford

    Wow, that was a great buy !!