Cooking nando's chicken at home!?

Associate
Ok, complete cooking noob here. I want to start taking my own meals to work on weekends (chicken and rice). I've bought a load of chicken breasts and Im gonna cook them and freeze them and thaw em out day before work etc.

I've bought some nando's peri peri sauce 'hot' - do I apply this to the chicken BEFORE or AFTER cooking them? The bottle doesn't say.

Cheers!

Soldato
Nando's chicken? If you want to get robbed, it'd be easier just to walk around with your money hanging out of your arse pocket!

Soldato
I'm joking. I find Nando's chicken to be bland, every time I've been (3 times before I finally said never again) I've left feeling like I'd just been robbed. I really don't understand the hype.

As for the actual question, you'd apply the sauce before, you might even marinate your chicken in it the night before or something.

I like to soak my chicken in some water with bicarb added (a tea spoon per 500g of chicken, just enough water to fully cover the chicken) which tenderises the chicken very nicely, and also stops it from drying out when reheating.

After soaking in bicarb and water I'd drain and then do a marinade.

Associate
OP
Here's a recipe I use regularly for peri peri chicken. Home made is far nicer than the stuff you get in Nandos :)

https://docs.google.com/document/d/1YI_LVosFZ-xRRlC587I9d_0BHnJPMAK4MSlIkBtjbjw/edit?usp=sharing

If you're using the pre-bought sauce then I would apply before *and* after cooking for best results.

Thanks dude, I'll try that recipe in the next batch I cook up. Yeah I've already bought the sauce so may aswell use it up.

Just spread a thin covering over each chicken breast before going in the oven? Hopefully willy stop it from drying up too much!

Man of Honour