1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

DDR4 3600 c16 Memory ?

Discussion in 'Memory' started by Meridiusuk, Jul 10, 2019.

  1. Meridiusuk

    Hitman

    Joined: May 9, 2009

    Posts: 906

    Hi all

    Anyone know where or if you can get corsair 3600 c16 DDR4 Memory in 4x8 or 2x16 as i just can not find any which i am suprised at.

    thanks for any help on this
     
  2. 8 Pack

    OcUK Staff

    Joined: Feb 20, 2012

    Posts: 9,912

    Location: John Smiths Stadium

    Corsair has almost no b die stock compared to vendors who buy direct the screened b die direct. Hence vert few sku can achieve this.

    Why corsair over team group or gskill for rgb. I mean much more stringent quality ic selection, higher quality pcb etc...
     
  3. Meridiusuk

    Hitman

    Joined: May 9, 2009

    Posts: 906

    Hi thanks for the help. I have not built a pc in a few years and always bought Corsair as I thought it was high quality memory.

    So are you saying there is better built better reliability and very good manufacturing of ram than Corsair ?

    It’s a new learning curve as I have not built a system in about 9 years.

    What would you consider as good high spec ram than Corsair. As I don’t like getting poor quality components but still has to be a fair price. As some ram is just a joke on price.

    And has Corsair went down hill ? not to bothered about RGB ram

    And what is b die stock and why do Corsair not use it for a well known company.

    Thanks
     
  4. Darren_uk

    Wise Guy

    Joined: Jan 25, 2006

    Posts: 1,428

    Location: Kent ,UK

    I am After a 16gb 3600mhz C16 x 2 8gb sticks Kit (Samsung Barbie Die) :) would go for 8 packs kit, but want RGB
     
    Last edited: Jul 11, 2019
  5. Meridiusuk

    Hitman

    Joined: May 9, 2009

    Posts: 906

    can anyone help ? what sort of memory do i need for the new ryzen as it seems to be 3600 with c16-c17 or 3200 using c14 can anyone recomend a very good quality memory set ? also would it be better to fill all slots or just use 2 slots is there any benifit from using 2 or 4 sticks .

    thanks
     
  6. Darren_uk

    Wise Guy

    Joined: Jan 25, 2006

    Posts: 1,428

    Location: Kent ,UK

  7. Webzta

    Wise Guy

    Joined: Dec 19, 2005

    Posts: 1,003

    The 8 Pack kits are really good.
     
  8. Meridiusuk

    Hitman

    Joined: May 9, 2009

    Posts: 906

    Thanks. Never herd of team group before are these a good company? Also what’s best for the Ryzen 3000 series 2x16 or 4x8 kits or does it not matter.

    Was looking at 3600 memory but very expensive as I was wanting 32gb.
     
  9. Darren_uk

    Wise Guy

    Joined: Jan 25, 2006

    Posts: 1,428

    Location: Kent ,UK

    Yep, up there with G skill, make quality Sticks.
     
  10. Webzta

    Wise Guy

    Joined: Dec 19, 2005

    Posts: 1,003

  11. ilc72

    Gangster

    Joined: Mar 19, 2014

    Posts: 446

    I would pickup the 8-Pack 3600MHz CL16 kit asap as there has been rumours that Samsung B-Die production is ending, whilst I haven’t picked up a Ryzen 3XXX yet I did pickup a second 8-Pack kit just in case. As for the memory the 8-Pack kits they are rock solid so if you don’t need RGB then they are the best choice.

    @8 Pack Is there any truth to the “rumours” of B-Die production ending as per Anandtech article?

    https://www.anandtech.com/show/14327/samsung-to-end-b-die-ddr4-memory
     
  12. ltron

    Wise Guy

    Joined: Aug 30, 2014

    Posts: 1,300

    There is 3600 CL14 8 Pack RAM coming by the end of the month, you might want to wait for that.
     
  13. Meridiusuk

    Hitman

    Joined: May 9, 2009

    Posts: 906

    not to interested in overclocking as i read that ryzen needs 3200 c14 or 3600 c16, alos i sril dont know if its better to use 2 sticks or 4 sticks ? or doe sit not matter
     
  14. Darren_uk

    Wise Guy

    Joined: Jan 25, 2006

    Posts: 1,428

    Location: Kent ,UK

    2 sticks is best, 4 sticks = double trouble , double the chance of fail
    2 stick more compatible than 4. less power draw....less work, I can go on :)

    for "Ryzen", Always best to go with a Kit of 2 sticks like 8 x 8 or 16 x 16, 32 x 32

    Even if you see a kit of 4 sticks... still best with the higher 2 sticks

    Ryzen ITX boards well that's easy since only 2 Sticks any how :)
     
    Last edited: Jul 13, 2019
  15. Meridiusuk

    Hitman

    Joined: May 9, 2009

    Posts: 906

    thanks

    let say i buy 2x16 and want to upgrade later on would i need to replace them or buy two more ? also if its that bad why do motherboard manufacturers put 4 slots on boards if there is compatible problems as i have seen many use 4 slots on videos.

    just trying to figure out why thats all as somtimes the higher 2 sticks have a higher cas.

    what does 2 sticks like 8 x 8 or 16 x 16, 32 x 32 mean ?

    thanks
     
    Last edited: Jul 13, 2019
  16. Meridiusuk

    Hitman

    Joined: May 9, 2009

    Posts: 906

  17. shamus21

    Wise Guy

    Joined: Aug 29, 2004

    Posts: 1,631

    Location: Alpha centauri

    If true it would be because Samsung have something better/newer.
     
  18. Darren_uk

    Wise Guy

    Joined: Jan 25, 2006

    Posts: 1,428

    Location: Kent ,UK

    Yep, Samsung are ending Barbie Die ...:(
     
  19. Silent_Scone

    Capodecina

    Joined: Sep 5, 2011

    Posts: 12,360

    Location: Surrey

  20. Oblivion007

    Gangster

    Joined: Sep 14, 2015

    Posts: 199

    Location: Scotland

    Is this confirmed? Also do we have prices @8 Pack ?