1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

DELL S2719DGF Owners Thread

Discussion in 'Monitors' started by Ree, Dec 30, 2018.

  1. Wegason

    Gangster

    Joined: Feb 27, 2011

    Posts: 220

    Location: Essex

    Sounds like it has the same banding issues in dark scenes as the S21716DG. I have that monitor and it is really noticeable at the end of a POTG highlight in Overwatch when the Overwatch logo on a black background fades in.
     
  2. kayone

    Wise Guy

    Joined: Nov 5, 2003

    Posts: 1,759

    Location: Chesterfield

    Don't play that title i'm afraid, and not sure what you mean by black levels & banding? :)
     
  3. atomic7431

    Mobster

    Joined: Feb 18, 2004

    Posts: 2,876

    Location: Lincolnshire

    https://imgur.com/a/wtkJnsS

    look at these, first pic is what i see in low dark areas, like dusk etc.
     
  4. greatash

    Hitman

    Joined: Aug 29, 2013

    Posts: 591

    was curious about banding after reading the last page, mine seems to have minimal banding. I have it on stock settings just the gamma tweaked with windows color calibration as default gamma was rubbish
     
  5. Paul N

    Gangster

    Joined: Jul 26, 2004

    Posts: 133

    This monitor is available for £368. Do you think its worth it still at that price or are there better options? Would probabaly prefer a fast response IPS but the Dell seems to be the only thing in stock anywhere at the moment.
     
  6. cantor2145

    Associate

    Joined: Mar 22, 2020

    Posts: 2

    I have problem with this monitor, sometimes it's dropping to 60hz after reboot without other option. And also sometimes it showing "this mode is not available, use 2560x1440 60hz", something like that. Anybody have same problems? Or it's freesync/g-sync issue?
     
  7. ironmysox

    Gangster

    Joined: May 18, 2009

    Posts: 280

    Location: Gloucester

    I also have this issue. For me it stops if I turn the 155hz option off. Strangely enough I have been in contact with Dell about this issue this past fortnight but their support has been useless. There is also a Reddit thread discussing it. Happens to both AMD and Nvidia. When it happens on mine I just tap the input select button twice and it resolves the issue. Not ideal but it works. If I can get any kind of sense from Dell I’ll update you but for now they are saying it’s everything but the monitor. Just to give you and example of what I’m battling against, the one private message I had said my 5700XT was to blame as it couldn't handle 155hz. How do you reply to that??
     
  8. cantor2145

    Associate

    Joined: Mar 22, 2020

    Posts: 2

    I have 1080ti btw, so i was thinking that is because of freesync and g-sync enabled. But if you have it with radeon, then it's not because of that. Will be interested in updates from dell's support, thanks.
     
  9. The1nonly1

    Wise Guy

    Joined: Jul 24, 2009

    Posts: 1,546

    Location: Stoke-on-Trent

    How is the monitor in 2020? Is it worth the money for the TN panel? I'm looking at buying one for my gaming pc (COD MW, F1 2019/20 when out, Assasins Creed and similar type games).
     
  10. ironmysox

    Gangster

    Joined: May 18, 2009

    Posts: 280

    Location: Gloucester

    I'm still happy with mine. It hasn't been without it's issues though and I have had a lot of backwards and forwards with Dell regarding picture loss when using the Overclock (155HZ) option. There is a thread on Reddit regadring the issue and seems to effect AMD and Nvidia. The monitor loses signal sometimes when starting a game or waking up from sleep and the message displayed says you need to select a compatible refresh rate. All you have to do is turn the panel off and on and your back in. This is also unavoidable by not using the overclock option OR (according to Dell technichal) have overclock on and Freesync off (which only works up to 144hz anyway if I remember correctly. Still, I have been using it at 144HZ for a while now and its perfect. I will say, it is by far, imo, the best TN panel I have seen to date. I was using it on a 5700XT and now a 2070 Super and it's superb. I also like the design choice, the deep blue is a nice change from traditional black!!!
     
  11. Davanius

    Wise Guy

    Joined: May 19, 2012

    Posts: 1,249

    I love my Dell but if I were buying now I would consider an IPS monitor as they are now more options at suitable prices. Look out for these.

    Acer Nitro VG271U, Acer Nitro VG270UP, Pixio PX7 Prime. Or you can spend a little more for the Asus TUF VG27AQ or LG Ultragear 27GL83A-B.
     
  12. Relentless81

    Capodecina

    Joined: May 18, 2010

    Posts: 10,490

    Glad this thread has popped up again I keep meaning to ask, do these have built on speakers?

    It shows as a sound device and I'm sure I've seen something related in the OSD
     
  13. Davanius

    Wise Guy

    Joined: May 19, 2012

    Posts: 1,249

    No as far as I can tell. I think the audio out is for external speakers like the older model was.

    I could be wrong.
     
  14. The1nonly1

    Wise Guy

    Joined: Jul 24, 2009

    Posts: 1,546

    Location: Stoke-on-Trent

    Thanks both for the input. I'll take a look at these options.
     
  15. Zico

    Mobster

    Joined: Jan 15, 2003

    Posts: 4,846

    Location: South East

    I have this and like you say, turning it off and on sorts the issue out. Is there any likelyhood of this being fixed in a firmware update?
     
  16. Twistidkid

    Associate

    Joined: Jun 4, 2020

    Posts: 1

    Hey everyone,
    Hope everyone is keeping safe. I just purchased this monitor it's fantastic! I just have an minor issue ☹️ it's not really that bad, I normally play destiny 2 on PC and while in the tower if I open the character menu I get some light flickers on the left top of the screen its like very quick as if the light is flickering. I have it connected to a 2070super is anyone else using this same config? and can you tell me if this is the game or the monitor?