• The forum will be offline Monday from 10am until approximately 3pm for maintenance and upgrades.

Desk Project Log

Associate
I have spent literally years designing my perfect desk for my home office and gaming PC setup. Now it's time to build it!

I am not a pro woodworker, and I don't have a fancy workshop, but I've watched lots of YouTube videos! I've bought the materials and found a corner in which to work. So let's start!

The design

• It's a one-of-a-kind custom design, by me.
  • Simple, classic design, based on the Shaker style.
  • It will be big and heavy, with loads of desk space and storage.
    • Space for a big ultra widescreen monitor and chunky hi-fi speakers, plus space for side monitors, printers or whatever.
  • It comes apart into several pieces for transportation.
    • 2 pedestals, a back section, a center section and the top.
  • The top and drawer fronts will be oak, the frames will be pine and the panels will be baltic birch plywood.
    • I'd have loved to have built the whole thing out of solid oak, with maybe walnut panels, but that would be prohibitively expensive! It's not cheap as it is.
The workstation
  • Not a lot of space, as it's really just one end of the dining room, but hopefully it will be sufficient.
  • Main tools are a table saw, mitre saw, pillar drill and small router/trimmer, plus an assortment of hand tools.

Starting work
  • A few parts cut to length. The side stretchers of the web frames and some stiles for the back and center sections.
  • Made a stop-block for the mitre saw to ensure they all ended up the same length, which worked pretty well.

The future
  • No idea how long it'll take to finish, or how often I'll have updates. I have a job a wife and two kids, so I can't really commit to any schedule.

Last edited:
Associate
OP
Congrats at being brave enough to do that level of wood working in the house. My wife would kill me!