Direct Access Scheme

Associate
Has anyone here done their license through the Direct Access Scheme (DAS)? I was thinking it would be a good way to cram everything into a single week. Good for office monkeys like me who rarely get enough vacation time to do anything useful.

I'm concerned that it may be a bit overwhelming for a complete novice such as myself. I've never rode a bike, never mind a scooter, and own absolutely zero equipment or safety gear.

A motorcycling school nearby offers a five-day course (including CBT) for £750. Is it worth it?

Associate
I was in an almost identical situation to you about a year ago. I didn't know how well I'd take to biking so I booked the CBT on its own to start off with. I found it a bit overwhelming so bought a 125 and rode that until I'd built my confidence up.

Several months later, when my confidence was high and I'd had a lot of experience riding the 125, I booked a direct access course. My experience on the 125 helped me a lot when I got on the 500. Now, I know a lot of people will tell you to just do it all in one go, but I'd highly recommend the route I took. I was doing it for fun and as I wasn't in a hurry, I didn't feel a need to do everything in one go.

Associate
Bear in mind that Direct Access refers to the fact that once complete, you can ride any power bike, rather than being restricted. You can do it split up over a period of time (Assuming your local school offers this)

Soldato
You will get all the safety equipment from the company you choose, bear in mind though completing the course in a week does mean you will have to pass everything pretty much first time.

Saying that best bit of advice i can give you is if your not sure or 100% happy with any part of the test or your riding tell the instructon and dont be shy. They are there to help at the end of the day :)

Soldato