1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Disk management

Discussion in 'Windows & Other Software' started by Dazstoke, Mar 11, 2018.

  1. Dazstoke

    Gangster

    Joined: Nov 22, 2012

    Posts: 303

    I have a usb HD that won't show up in disk management.
    In fact with the drive connected disk management won't load,as soon as I unplug it it does but when I plug it back in it doesn't show.
    It shows in device manager and is working properly so it says.

    I tried the drive in a linux pc and it was ok.If I recall I think I formatted it on the linux pc AFTER it wouldn't show on the windows 10 pc.
    I had the above issue before and after formatting.

    Any suggestions ?
     
  2. Scort

    Mobster

    Joined: Feb 28, 2006

    Posts: 2,980

    Location: No longer riding an Italian

    Not a solution - but speculation... I get the same issue on my work PC, and I think, it has something to do with Windows running out of drive letters to use. That's the only thing I can think of.

    I only actually have an A: and C: drive, and a DVD, but I get issues with some USB devices, where they will show within diskmgmt and also diskpart - but they will not mount as a drive with a letter, in Windows. I'm forever plugging USB drives in, so this is what has made me think along these lines.

    Probably wrong, but I expect that Windows/the registry holds the drive mapping for USB devices, and that it may eventually run out of letters to allocate...
     
  3. mrbazmondo

    Hitman

    Joined: Apr 10, 2008

    Posts: 910

    It should still appear in device manager and computer management if you're out of drive letters.
    Does the drive have enough power? Is it spinning up properly? Are lights on the enclosure lit like it's working? Have you tried another pc?
     
  4. Dazstoke

    Gangster

    Joined: Nov 22, 2012

    Posts: 303

    I've just connected it to the linux pc,it shows there and I've formatted it again.
    Back on the windows pc,it's in device manager but not disk management or explorer.
    There's a solid white light on the drive....Toshiba.
    Oh and I can eject it in the safely remove hardware pop up
     
  5. Admiral Huddy

    Don

    Joined: Feb 17, 2003

    Posts: 28,475

    Location: Chelmsford & Broadgate

    Does it show in the BIOS or UEFI settings.. ?

    This is a good clue if the system is communicating correctly with the device.

    Try a different cable/port.

    Clear the BIOS/CMOS.. Looking for the motherboards website for known issues, i.e. is there a BIOS update?

    Try the drive in another machine if you can..


    Also how large is the capacity of the drive? Remember, if you are not using the GUID Partition under UEFI, the legacy system won't see drives above 2TB.. just a passing thought.

    Good luck
     
  6. mrbazmondo

    Hitman

    Joined: Apr 10, 2008

    Posts: 910

    Did you refresh/rescan on disk manager?
    Maybe try the command line diskpart program?
    I assume you formatted with a filesystem that windows can handle like exfat.
     
  7. Dazstoke

    Gangster

    Joined: Nov 22, 2012

    Posts: 303

    There was no option when formatting to choose file system so this was something that concerned me
     
  8. Admiral Huddy

    Don

    Joined: Feb 17, 2003

    Posts: 28,475

    Location: Chelmsford & Broadgate

    you didn't mention the size of your new drive?
     
  9. Dazstoke

    Gangster

    Joined: Nov 22, 2012

    Posts: 303

    500GB.....it's not a new drive,I've used it before to make a backup.
    I'm going to take it to a friend who has a windows pc and reformat it on that I think before I go any further.
     
  10. mrbazmondo

    Hitman

    Joined: Apr 10, 2008

    Posts: 910

    Good luck
     
  11. Dazstoke

    Gangster

    Joined: Nov 22, 2012

    Posts: 303

    Well,the same issue on my friends pc,it didn't show up.
    I've now formatted it on the linux pc using every option available and still doesn't show in windows.
    I'm going to take a hammer to it because it's doing my head in :)
     
  12. theforce

    Wise Guy

    Joined: Jan 5, 2005

    Posts: 2,040

    Location: Larnaca, Cyprus

    Hit it a few times and hope for the best. ;)
     
  13. jpaul

    Mobster

    Joined: Mar 1, 2010

    Posts: 4,677

    have you tried plugging it in before boot, or during sleep, (it's slighly different but) I have some esata, suuposed to be plug'n'play, drives ,that do not show unless I use this technique.
     
  14. mrbazmondo

    Hitman

    Joined: Apr 10, 2008

    Posts: 910

    If it at least showed up in computer management I would suggest using diskpart. You could then select disk, then clean disk. That'd purge whatever is on it.
    On Linux are you formatting raw, or formatting a partition? If it's partitioned, is it MBR or GPT?
    I've had issues with disks before that didn't have a partition table.
     
  15. Semple

    Mobster

    Joined: Mar 5, 2010

    Posts: 3,832

    Have you tried diskpart from cmd prompt and then performed a clean on the drive?
     
  16. bledd

    Don

    Joined: Oct 21, 2002

    Posts: 45,662

    Location: Parts Unknown

    Is it powered via USB?

    Try a port on the back of the PC.

    What filesystem type are you formatting it as in Linux?
     
  17. Dazstoke

    Gangster

    Joined: Nov 22, 2012

    Posts: 303

    PC won't boot if I plug it in 1st and also at 1 point I was trying different things and the cursor disappeared,the cordless mouse I use had suddenly got no power to the hub....disconnecting the usb drive and the mouse started working again
     
  18. bledd

    Don

    Joined: Oct 21, 2002

    Posts: 45,662

    Location: Parts Unknown

    Tell us more about how isit bring physically connected to the pc.
     
  19. Dazstoke

    Gangster

    Joined: Nov 22, 2012

    Posts: 303

    Drive has it's own cable,usb 1 end ,the other I haven't seen the like of before,presume it's a Toshiba design.
    I've plugged it into EVERY port on the pc
     
  20. mrbazmondo

    Hitman

    Joined: Apr 10, 2008

    Posts: 910

    Does it sound right? Does it spin up properly? Does it make funny noises like its retrying something?