1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Poll: Do you still have a Landline ?

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by Bald-Eagle22, May 20, 2020.

?

Do you have a landline?

  1. I have a landline and I have a phone plugged in

    32 vote(s)
    43.8%
  2. I have a landline but no phone plugged in

    22 vote(s)
    30.1%
  3. I do not have a landline

    19 vote(s)
    26.0%
  1. Kelt

    Capodecina

    Joined: Nov 14, 2007

    Posts: 10,634

    Location: With the færies

    Yep.

    Virgin person on the phone quoted me more for BB without the landline. :p
     
  2. LOAM

    Capodecina

    Joined: Oct 20, 2004

    Posts: 11,926

    Location: Nottingham

    Yes but it's unplugged so no.
     
  3. BowdonUK

    Mobster

    Joined: Jan 17, 2016

    Posts: 3,746

    I got a landline. But only really use it when giving information to official places, like doctors, government stuff etc.
     
  4. iamdjdz

    Mobster

    Joined: Nov 24, 2006

    Posts: 4,377

    No, ditched it when we got fibre to the house in newbuild. Don't even have copper cable run into the house. Haven't had a land-line phone plugged in since 2014 despite having a line in to houses until 2018.
     
  5. Narj

    Capodecina

    Joined: Feb 19, 2010

    Posts: 12,300

    Location: London

    I flipped mine to Vonage and I think the only time I've used it is to call my mislaid mobile phone.

    I should really cancel it but it's been my number for a long time now and all the family still use it as a last resort when they can't get hold of me :/
     
  6. Yucca

    Wise Guy

    Joined: Nov 20, 2004

    Posts: 2,139

    Location: Nock/Leicester


    So you have never watched all the great tv series’s that everyone watches? What about news channels? And how do you spend all that time then? The average Joe watches several hours of tv a week for entertainment, news and education.

    Genuinely intrigued...
     
  7. drakulton

    Hitman

    Joined: Apr 20, 2015

    Posts: 681

    Yes, with a black Bakelite phone with a rotary dial. Younger visitors have no idea how to work it.:rolleyes::rolleyes::rolleyes:
     
  8. Narj

    Capodecina

    Joined: Feb 19, 2010

    Posts: 12,300

    Location: London

    My grandparents had a rotary phone right up until around 2005. Even when it got replaced by a push-button phone it was set to loop disconnect as opposed to DTMF mode! :D
     
  9. Jean-F

    Wise Guy

    Joined: Apr 14, 2017

    Posts: 1,808

    Location: London

    We still have one, although never make calls on it, but two of our relatives call us on it occasionally.
     
  10. esoteric

    Wise Guy

    Joined: Aug 5, 2004

    Posts: 2,398

    Got the line but it's idle.
     
  11. Angilion

    Man of Honour

    Joined: Dec 5, 2003

    Posts: 17,368

    Location: Just to the left of my PC

    I have a landline and usually use it, but it's currently semi-broken. No calls in or out, broadband at ~800KBps. The fault will be outside as usual, probably the connection from the pole to my house since that's about as old as the telegraph system. 4 days after booking the engineer visit I find out that despite being given a time and date for the engineer visit that was a lie because landlines will not be repaired for customers who don't have a mobile phone. No matter where the fault is. They'll continue to charge me for the service, of course, but they won't provide it.

    I'm not happy, neither at the new "no mobile no landline" policy nor at the fact that I wasn't even told that the appointment they offered me was fake. But there's nothing I can do apart from buy a mobile phone I don't want just for TalkTalk's benefit. I have no doubt they'll then try using it as a tool to advertise at me.
     
  12. Efour

    Caporegime

    Joined: Sep 8, 2005

    Posts: 25,772

    Location: Norrbotten, Sweden.

    I'm probably needing an ADSL line for 6 months so soon proud landline owner.
     
  13. montymint

    Mobster

    Joined: Jul 29, 2006

    Posts: 3,176

    Location: Newcastle, UK

    I have one but the phone is not plugged into it.
     
  14. billysielu

    Capodecina

    Joined: Aug 9, 2009

    Posts: 11,572

    Location: Oxfordshire

    Had to get it to be able to buy broadband. Imagine walking into a shop and them saying you can't buy what you want unless you buy something else first. I have to block all incoming calls anyway coz constant spam.
     
  15. wnb

    Mobster

    Joined: Feb 27, 2004

    Posts: 3,889

    We have a land line but I unplugged the phone about 2 years ago. The only people calling me were asian trying to scam me.
     
  16. Diddums

    Capodecina

    Joined: Oct 24, 2012

    Posts: 19,382

    Location: London

    I remember when I was at school in South Africa, we had these public phones which required a phone card to be topped up to be able to use. The phones themselves still used the old rotary protocol so all the card reader did was convert the button presses in to the signal that a rotary dial would use. We eventually discovered that by emulating the rotary dial inputs using the handset holder that we could make free calls.

    Obviously nobody had phones back then so there was nobody to call, so we just spent the day phoning up other schools and playing pranks all day, until they sussed it and removed the phones.
     
  17. izzop

    Wise Guy

    Joined: Jul 7, 2009

    Posts: 2,234

    Location: Wiltshire

    Yes, but nothing plugged in.
     
  18. Semple

    Soldato

    Joined: Mar 5, 2010

    Posts: 6,331

    Could do with a poll really.
    - I have a landline and i have a phone plugged in
    - I have a landline but no phone plugged in
    - I do not have a landline

    We do technically have one cabled to the house, but don't even own a phone to plug in. Not had one in the last five years.

    Like the majority on here, a landline phone seems to be a dying breed.
     
  19. Maundie

    Mobster

    Joined: Oct 20, 2010

    Posts: 2,620

    I have due to requirement for Broadband but I haven't had a phone plugged into it for about 3 years
     
  20. Terminal_Boy

    Sgarrista

    Joined: Apr 13, 2013

    Posts: 7,927

    Location: La France

    If you live out in the sticks with patchy mobile coverage and sketchy internet that disappears when it rains, you need a landline. Just remember to keep an old school corded handset for when the power goes out.