Doom 3 Quest VR

Soldato
Joined
16 Jul 2010
Posts
4,270
It's an astounding port. I'm amazed it was even possible. Puts the majority of Quest native apps to shame.
 
Associate
Joined
6 Feb 2004
Posts
1,272
Location
Toon
Seeing as I played the original for all of 10 minutes, before giving up as I was too terrified, I fear this might be a bit much for me. How does the requirement to own the original game get checked? I believe I had a disk but unlikely I'll find that again.
 
Soldato
Joined
16 Jul 2010
Posts
4,270
Seeing as I played the original for all of 10 minutes, before giving up as I was too terrified, I fear this might be a bit much for me. How does the requirement to own the original game get checked? I believe I had a disk but unlikely I'll find that again.

You need to copy the game files across manually to the Quest. Best thing is to get a cheap digital copy. It's been on sale for as low as a couple of pounds, and it'll be patched to the latest version. Disk versions will have to be installed (if you can install them), and then patched (if you can find the right patches) before you can copy the files across.
 
Associate
Joined
6 Feb 2004
Posts
1,272
Location
Toon
You need to copy the game files across manually to the Quest. Best thing is to get a cheap digital copy. It's been on sale for as low as a couple of pounds, and it'll be patched to the latest version. Disk versions will have to be installed (if you can install them), and then patched (if you can find the right patches) before you can copy the files across.

Thanks

Will just put it on my Steam wishlist and grab it when it goes on sale. Not something I'm likely to play for long anyway, but my son likes that sort of thing :)
 
Soldato
Joined
17 Apr 2009
Posts
7,365
It's £2.99 on CDKeys, and even less at the reseller sites. An absolute steal, really.
 
Soldato
Joined
16 Jul 2010
Posts
4,270
This is the first side-loaded game I've been playing in preference to the Oculus Store apps.

I've got all the other side-loaded ports - HL1, Doom, Quake, RTCW, etc., but this one is in a whole different league. I could see this selling for £20+ on the Oculus store if it were an official port.
 
Associate
Joined
10 Jul 2008
Posts
105
Location
suffolk
What refresh rate and settings are people playing this at as I started this and felt like I was getting motion sickness but can spend 2 hours on walking dead and no problems
 
Soldato
Joined
19 Dec 2010
Posts
10,663
What refresh rate and settings are people playing this at as I started this and felt like I was getting motion sickness but can spend 2 hours on walking dead and no problems

I use 72hz. and I disable the body and crouched body. Other than that, haven't changed anything.

EDIT: I removed the body because when you turn around in real life sometimes the body wouldn't turn without. And you end up basically looking though the back of your own head :p
 
Associate
Joined
10 Jul 2008
Posts
105
Location
suffolk
I use 72hz. and I disable the body and crouched body. Other than that, haven't changed anything.

EDIT: I removed the body because when you turn around in real life sometimes the body wouldn't turn without. And you end up basically looking though the back of your own head :p
I still get motion sickness with this game but no other game affects me strange though
 
Associate
Joined
11 Oct 2005
Posts
2,006
I know you can scale the Hud but is there any way to lower it? I can't read the box that pops up in the top left now and again.

The PDA is also buggy and comes up behind my head.
 
Soldato
Joined
19 Dec 2010
Posts
10,663
I know you can scale the Hud but is there any way to lower it? I can't read the box that pops up in the top left now and again.

The PDA is also buggy and comes up behind my head.

You should update to the latest version on Sidequest.
 
Top Bottom