1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

[Einstein@home] UK Teams Title Race

Discussion in 'Team OcUK Distributed Computing Projects' started by derk, Nov 15, 2015.

  1. currob

    Hitman

    Joined: Nov 15, 2011

    Posts: 901

    Location: Stafford

    I have an evga 1300w gold psu, I've tried different ports on the psu and different pcie cables. The darn thing has looped ubigine valley for hours and I've played witcher 3 for 2 hours this morning with no errors, played far cry 4 with no errors last night. Then I get display driver stopped errors browsing the web and on every other wu from einstein and fah project. Doing my head in, if I return it and they loop something on it like valley then it will probably pass and be returned to me. Really lost on this, really considering ebaying it as working with intermittent fault and taking the loss.
     
    Last edited: Nov 20, 2015
  2. ozaudio

    Mobster

    Joined: Jan 23, 2010

    Posts: 3,804

    Location: St helens

    were was the card from? if ocuk then link them to this thread in customer service section, from what I read about there customer service im sure they'll sort you out.
     
  3. Zapp3012

    Associate

    Joined: Oct 5, 2015

    Posts: 53

    Location: Norn Iron

    I've just added a GTX 750ti to one of my crunching rigs. It's doing Einstein 24/7 now. (The rest of the rig does SETI, CPU and AMD R7).

    I allow my main PC to do Einstein when I'm not using it. It has an R9 Fury ;)
     
  4. derk

    Mobster

    Joined: Oct 18, 2002

    Posts: 2,937

    Location: Lancashire

    Currob - I feel for you man, really, been there myself. I think you know what needs doing now unfortunately - RMA or the bay.

    Welcome Zapp and thanks for your contribution, a fellow 24/7 man - hardcore :cool:

    Been away at work for a few days then tried a couple of upgrades.
    First upgrade was 2000mhz ram, disaster, would not run anywhere near that speed, bsod after bsod, nil boot etc.
    Could only get it to run at 1333 and as the are 3x2Gb it turned out its not enough ram anyway (Boinc was reporting a task waiting for ram).
    So I have reverted to my old 12Gb of 1333 ram - not that the ram upgrade would have given massive boast so no great loss but I probably lost a days crunching messing with it.
    Second upgrade a result - i7 950 out - Xeon X5660 in - 6 cores 12 threads - lovely :D.........also 35w saving - win win
     
    Last edited: Nov 21, 2015
  5. derk

    Mobster

    Joined: Oct 18, 2002

    Posts: 2,937

    Location: Lancashire

    Team update

    1. UK BOINC Team 434,192,631 - PPD 253,601
    2. OcUK - Overclockers UK 323,055,821 - PPD 670,003
    3. University of Glasgow 299,317,636 - PPD 293,893

    Our PPD has increased massively from 4 days ago, give yourself a pat on the back, you deserve it :cool:

    Senture takes the ppd crown from Andy-taximan shocker :eek::eek::eek:

    ...............but how long can he keep it up? and will Andy endure - its getting intense people and I love it :cool:

    [​IMG]

    Chart - TeamOcUK
     
    Last edited: Nov 21, 2015
  6. Senture

    Wise Guy

    Joined: May 1, 2007

    Posts: 2,344

    Location: London

    Cheers for the report, wasn't expecting that to happen :eek:. Hopefully the machine doesn't fall over while I'm away. Decided to slap both GTX 980's in there with a nice clock of 1460Mhz on them. Great to see the team production up by such a significant amount, great job everyone! :D
     
  7. derk

    Mobster

    Joined: Oct 18, 2002

    Posts: 2,937

    Location: Lancashire

    Thats very good of you Senture to leave it running while youre away, impressed :)
     
  8. Zapp3012

    Associate

    Joined: Oct 5, 2015

    Posts: 53

    Location: Norn Iron

    Are there any optimised apps for Einstein?
    I've noticed people with similar rigs to me getting much higher RAC.
     
  9. derk

    Mobster

    Joined: Oct 18, 2002

    Posts: 2,937

    Location: Lancashire

    No optimised apps available on this project.

    PPD not high enough?

    I dont know your experience/situation so I can only suggest -

    Do you run your PC 24/7

    Are you aware you can process multiple work units at once on the cpu and gpu?

    If your answer is yes to both of the above then you may have a problem.

    Not trying to insult your intelligence, if I have sorry.

    Edit: Just checked your stats, you only started crunching a few days ago, it takes a while for your RAC to rise.
    At the moment it looks like it will be around 20 to 25k based on your recent output.
     
    Last edited: Nov 22, 2015
  10. andy_taximan

    Wise Guy

    Joined: Apr 20, 2014

    Posts: 1,856

    Location: Herts/uk

    Since when :eek: , what chart you looking at? :confused:
     
  11. derk

    Mobster

    Joined: Oct 18, 2002

    Posts: 2,937

    Location: Lancashire

    Last edited: Nov 22, 2015
  12. derk

    Mobster

    Joined: Oct 18, 2002

    Posts: 2,937

    Location: Lancashire

    Holy crapola, just noticed Ba's & Biffa's accounts are active, this could be interesting :D
    They have as many cpu cores as I have gpu ones :p

    Update: The following milestones have just been passed -

    Biffa passed 1,000,000
    Senture passes 750,000
    Zapp3012 passed 100,000
    Senture passed 500,000
    currob passes 350,000

    This is for you :D

    [​IMG][​IMG][​IMG]

    Update 2: The Team's PPD has now reached 851,630 - and its still rising :cool:
     
    Last edited: Nov 22, 2015
  13. Senture

    Wise Guy

    Joined: May 1, 2007

    Posts: 2,344

    Location: London

    Looking very good :D. I see Andy has added a pair of GTX 780's on to Einstein. Not long before he reclaims the top spot :)
     
  14. andy_taximan

    Wise Guy

    Joined: Apr 20, 2014

    Posts: 1,856

    Location: Herts/uk

  15. Zapp3012

    Associate

    Joined: Oct 5, 2015

    Posts: 53

    Location: Norn Iron

    No worries. I've only been crunching for a little over a month.
    I built 2 rigs that I run 24/7. But they mostly do SETI, because that's my main interest.

    This is what I have, and what they are doing...

    Rig 1:
    AMD A6 7400K (2 cores + R5 GPU) SETI
    Radeon HD 7750 (CapeVerde) SETI

    Rig 2:
    Intel Celeron G1840 2 cores (Asteroids@home) HD graphics (SETI)
    AMD R7 240 (Oland) SETI
    GeForce GTX 750ti (Einstein)

    Main PC: (Not running 24/7, but doing Einstein ATM)
    AMD FX 9590 @5.0Ghz (8 core)
    AMD R9 Fury
     
  16. derk

    Mobster

    Joined: Oct 18, 2002

    Posts: 2,937

    Location: Lancashire

    You have an amazing output guys, your both stars ;)

    Give it a few weeks and your RAC will be more realistic, wish I could run 3 rigs.
     
  17. derk

    Mobster

    Joined: Oct 18, 2002

    Posts: 2,937

    Location: Lancashire

    Update

    Milestones passed
    Andy_Taximan passed 4,000,000
    Senture passed 850,000
    currob passed 400,000
    Zapp3012 passed 150,000

    Top 2 crunchers put out over 1/2 Million between them today - wow
    Andy_taximan 287,111
    Senture 255,200

    Zapp3012 - I dont know what you did but your ppd has just gone ballistic - 83,358

    Teams PPD now at 983,353

    This calls for more fireworks............
    [​IMG][​IMG][​IMG]
     
  18. Zapp3012

    Associate

    Joined: Oct 5, 2015

    Posts: 53

    Location: Norn Iron

    I gave my 8 core and Radeon Fury some work to do :D
     
  19. derk

    Mobster

    Joined: Oct 18, 2002

    Posts: 2,937

    Location: Lancashire

    Ya kicking my butt too :o
     
  20. Senture

    Wise Guy

    Joined: May 1, 2007

    Posts: 2,344

    Location: London

    No problem. Seems as if a few tasks are giving errors. GPU clocks might be too high but it hasn't crashed yet and I can't do anything about it remotely. Should be putting a dent in UK BOINC's lead at least :D