EV charger

Associate
Considering options for the location of the EV charger. My preference would be to have the charger somewhere where it's not exposed/visible. The garage has this board. Could the charger be installed there?

PXL-20240818-071558428.jpg

I am not a electrician but when we had our charger installed (OHME Home Pro) the installers asked if we had a 100A main fuse and if we didn't then they would fit one. We were upgraded to one when we had our smart meters fitted so we were ok but it looks like it's a requirement although I could be wrong. That cable doesn't even look like it's close to being up to the job either. Is your reason for wanting it out of sight purely a neatness thing or are you worried about someone stealing energy overnight. That can't happen wwith our charger as I can disable the soft touch screen within the app plus I can set it to ask me to approve every plug in. Additionally once the lead is plugged into the car it's locked in and can't be removed without unlocking it on the remote. The lead is tethered as well so the only way they could nick that would be to cut it off which kind of defeats the object of nicking it in the first place.

The main fuse in the property is 100A. I am sure the cable meets standards if I were to use it with the granny charger for the other car but would prefer to have the main one out of sight and somewhere where is it protected from rain/sun/snow/frost.

Looks like the fast charger will be outdoors then and the granny lead will use a new plug in the garage.

Last edited:
You need 6mm cable from the original consumer unit. And you will need a 32a RCBO.
I've had a look at the main consumer unit and for the garage it has a 16A breaker and 2.5mm2 live and 1.5mm2 CPC?. The cable that I can see entering the garage has 600-1000v marking (trying to get a better picture of the other marking).

Last edited: